1. #9561
    #showtooltip Wind Shear
    /stopcasting
    /cast [@focus,harm,nodead][@target,harm,nodead][@focustarget,harm,nodead][@targettarget,harm,nodead] Wind Shear

    is what i'm using as my wind shear macro...however, i'm running into the issue to where if my focus isnt interruptable (cc'd typically) and my target is, i can't interrupt my target. any help on cleaning this up so that i can still interrupt my target while having my focus set to a cc'd mob would be greatly appreciated.

  2. #9562
    Pit Lord Tearor's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    ჯოჯოხეთი
    Posts
    2,316
    Quote Originally Posted by diablo85 View Post
    #showtooltip Wind Shear
    /stopcasting
    /cast [@focus,harm,nodead][@target,harm,nodead][@focustarget,harm,nodead][@targettarget,harm,nodead] Wind Shear

    is what i'm using as my wind shear macro...however, i'm running into the issue to where if my focus isnt interruptable (cc'd typically) and my target is, i can't interrupt my target. any help on cleaning this up so that i can still interrupt my target while having my focus set to a cc'd mob would be greatly appreciated.
    I think it can't be done easily without a modifier, as long as you want the focus to be the priority in your macro.
    As long as the focus conditional is true, the macro will stop there and has no means of determining if your focus is interruptable atm.
    What you could do is start the sequence with a [mod, harm, nodead], so you can force Wind Shear to be cast on your current target by pressing alt, shift or ctrl.

    Anyway, wrong thread, you might want to ask in this one.
    Last edited by Tearor; 2011-11-18 at 02:16 AM.
    No point mentioning these bats, I thought. The poor bastard will see them soon enough.

  3. #9563
    I just need help knowing what addon this guy is using to show an icon on his screen when rend and CS is off CD and ready to be used.

    Last edited by lawomous; 2011-11-18 at 02:17 AM.

  4. #9564
    Quote Originally Posted by Kotik View Post
    I just need help knowing what addon this guy is using to show an icon on his screen when rend and CS is off CD and ready to be used.
    He mentions here: http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature...IFwnDqU#t=503s that he uses PowerAuras.

    Gershuun @ Borean Tundra US - Interface & Macros Moderator

  5. #9565
    Quote Originally Posted by Submann View Post
    I have a problem with CheckButton tooltip, i can't get it to show.
    What am i doing wrong ?

    Code:
    -- ********************* * * * * * Do your stuf * * * * * ********************
        local GsGuild = CreateFrame("CheckButton", "SetGsGuild", Window, "UICheckButtonTemplate")
        GsGuild:SetPoint("TOPLEFT", Window, "TOPLEFT", 10, -30)
        GsGuild.tooltip = "Tooltip here, why is it not working ?";
        if (GS_InGuild:lower() == "on") then
            GsGuild:SetChecked(true)
        else
            GsGuild:SetChecked(false)
        end
        SetGsGuildText:SetText("Text line here ?");
        GsGuild:SetScript("OnClick", function()
            if (GsGuild:GetChecked() == 1) then
                GS_InGuild = "on"
            elseif (GsGuild:GetChecked() == nil) then
                GS_InGuild = "off"
            else
                print("Error");
            end
        end)
    end
    Can't seem to see any OnEnter/OnLeave handlers. Are they defined by UICheckButtonTemplate?

    ---------- Post added 2011-11-18 at 08:09 AM ----------

    Can't seem to find any:
    Code:
    <CheckButton name="UICheckButtonTemplate" virtual="true">
     		<Size>
     			<AbsDimension x="32" y="32"/>
     		</Size>
     		<Layers>
     			<Layer level="ARTWORK">
    -				<FontString name="$parentText" inherits="GameFontNormalSmall">
    +				<FontString name="$parentText" inherits="GameFontNormalSmall" parentKey="text">
     					<Anchors>
     						<Anchor point="LEFT" relativePoint="RIGHT">
     							<Offset>
     								<AbsDimension x="-2" y="0"/>
     							</Offset>
     						</Anchor>
     					</Anchors>
     				</FontString>
     			</Layer>
     		</Layers>
     		<NormalTexture file="Interface\Buttons\UI-CheckBox-Up"/>
     		<PushedTexture file="Interface\Buttons\UI-CheckBox-Down"/>
     		<HighlightTexture file="Interface\Buttons\UI-CheckBox-Highlight" alphaMode="ADD"/>
     		<CheckedTexture file="Interface\Buttons\UI-CheckBox-Check"/>
     		<DisabledCheckedTexture file="Interface\Buttons\UI-CheckBox-Check-Disabled"/>
     	</CheckButton>
    Add them:
    Code:
    GsGuild:SetScript("OnEnter",function(self)
        GameTooltip:ClearLines()
        GameTooltip:SetOwner(self,"ANCHOR_RIGHT")
        GameTooltip:AddLine(SetGsGuildText:GetText(),1,0.82,0)
        GameTooltip:AddLine(self.tooltip,1,1,1)
        GameTooltip:Show()
    end)
    GsGuild:SetScript("OnLeave",function() GameTooltip:Hide() end)
    UI & AddOns expert | Interface & Macros moderator - My work

  6. #9566
    Was just browsing the share your UI thread and stumbled across this:

    Quote Originally Posted by xzbbzx View Post
    I guess asking the poster personally would probably work but this might net me faster results - what's the addon that allows you to change the regular Blizzard eagle-things at the end of the action bars to those paladin/Tyrael-ish looking "angels" xzbbzx has on that one screenshot?

    Thank you!

  7. #9567
    High Overlord
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Denmark
    Posts
    169
    Quote Originally Posted by Treeston View Post
    Can't seem to see any OnEnter/OnLeave handlers. Are they defined by UICheckButtonTemplate?
    <snip>
    Can't seem to find any:
    <snip>
    Treeston to the rescue again... Thanks m8... ;o)

    No they are not defined by UICheckButtonTemplate, is UICheckButtonTemplate not just a standard "layout" or is it me there still don't get it ?

    But now the OnEnter/OnLeave is working almost as i want them to (after i added them).

    I have made it as a separate function so i don't have to add the to every checkbutton
    Code:
    function OnEnter(self)
        GameTooltip:ClearLines()
        GameTooltip:SetOwner(self,"ANCHOR_RIGHT")
        GameTooltip:AddLine(SetGsGuildText:GetText(),1,0.82,0)
        GameTooltip:AddLine(self.tooltip,1,1,1)
        GameTooltip:Show()
    end
    
    function OnLeave()
        GameTooltip:Hide()
    end
    but can't get the "GetText" to work, so i tryed with this
    Code:
    -- ********************* * * * * * Do your stuf * * * * * ********************
        local GsGuild = CreateFrame("CheckButton", "SetGsGuild", Window, "UICheckButtonTemplate")
        strText = "Text line here"
        GsGuild:SetScript("OnEnter", OnEnter(strText));
        GsGuild:SetScript("OnLeave", OnLeave);
        GsGuild:SetPoint("TOPLEFT", Window, "TOPLEFT", 10, -30)
        GsGuild.tooltip = "Tooltip here, now it's working ?";
        if (GS_InGuild:lower() == "on") then
            GsGuild:SetChecked(true)
        else
            GsGuild:SetChecked(false)
        end
        SetGsGuildText:SetText(strText);
        GsGuild:SetScript("OnClick", function()
            if (GsGuild:GetChecked() == 1) then
                GS_InGuild = "on"
            elseif (GsGuild:GetChecked() == nil) then
                GS_InGuild = "off"
            else
                print("Error");
            end
        end)
    end
    
    function OnEnter(self, strText)
        GameTooltip:ClearLines()
        GameTooltip:SetOwner(self,"ANCHOR_RIGHT")
        GameTooltip:AddLine(strText,1,0.82,0)
        GameTooltip:AddLine(self.tooltip,1,1,1)
        GameTooltip:Show()
    end
    But the "GetText" is it still not working, any ide how to make it work ?

  8. #9568
    Anyone heard of an addon that sends you some sort of notification when an auction you have listed has been undercut?
    Quote Originally Posted by unholytestament
    You would think that after all these years people would have realized that the people at Blizzard aren't sorcerors and are hindered by technology just like the rest of us mortals.
    Quote Originally Posted by stormcall
    I will never understand why so many people who quit can't just QUIT and move on, and instead feel the need to come tell everyone about it, as if they just won the $100 million jackpot.

  9. #9569
    Quote Originally Posted by Submann View Post
    No they are not defined by UICheckButtonTemplate, is UICheckButtonTemplate not just a standard "layout" or is it me there still don't get it ?
    The UICheckButtonTemplate is a frame template which can have any number of properties defined that are then inherited by any frames that specify this template for creation - this includes script handlers. For example, SecureActionButtonTemplate and friends all define a secure OnClick handler in the template itself that allows them to perform secure operations (casting spells, using items, calling macros that do those).

    Quote Originally Posted by Submann View Post
    but can't get the "GetText" to work, so i tryed with this
    Code:
    -- ********************* * * * * * Do your stuf * * * * * ********************
        local GsGuild = CreateFrame("CheckButton", "SetGsGuild", Window, "UICheckButtonTemplate")
        strText = "Text line here"
        GsGuild:SetScript("OnEnter", OnEnter(strText));
        GsGuild:SetScript("OnLeave", OnLeave);
        GsGuild:SetPoint("TOPLEFT", Window, "TOPLEFT", 10, -30)
        GsGuild.tooltip = "Tooltip here, now it's working ?";
        if (GS_InGuild:lower() == "on") then
            GsGuild:SetChecked(true)
        else
            GsGuild:SetChecked(false)
        end
        SetGsGuildText:SetText(strText);
        GsGuild:SetScript("OnClick", function()
            if (GsGuild:GetChecked() == 1) then
                GS_InGuild = "on"
            elseif (GsGuild:GetChecked() == nil) then
                GS_InGuild = "off"
            else
                print("Error");
            end
        end)
    end
    
    function OnEnter(self, strText)
        GameTooltip:ClearLines()
        GameTooltip:SetOwner(self,"ANCHOR_RIGHT")
        GameTooltip:AddLine(strText,1,0.82,0)
        GameTooltip:AddLine(self.tooltip,1,1,1)
        GameTooltip:Show()
    end
    But the "GetText" is it still not working, any ide how to make it work ?
    This one has a different issue in that you're misunderstanding how :SetScript calls work.

    What you do when you call SetScript is you pass the frame as arg1 (done through the colon call automatically), you pass the script handler label as arg2, and then you pass a function reference as arg3 (every "function" is simply a pointer to a memory address that contains the code to be executed - tables also work this way).
    Code:
    GsGuild:SetScript("OnLeave", OnLeave);
    Here you pass a reference to the function stored in variable OnLeave to the :SetScript call.

    However, let's take a look at your other :SetScript line:
    Code:
    GsGuild:SetScript("OnEnter", OnEnter(strText));
    Here you call the function stored in variable OnEnter with strText as arg1, then pass the return values of that function call to :SetScript. Now the solution I'd propose is to modify the :GetText call in OnEnter to read the proper FontString label for the button using :GetName to determine its global label (as determined by the UICheckButtonTemplate template to be $parentText - see my XML snippet from the template definition in my previous post).

    Code:
    local function OnEnter(self)
        GameTooltip:ClearLines()
        GameTooltip:SetOwner(self,"ANCHOR_RIGHT")
        GameTooltip:AddLine(_G[self:GetName().."Text"]:GetText(),1,0.82,0)
        GameTooltip:AddLine(self.tooltip,1,1,1)
        GameTooltip:Show()
    end
    Revert the rest of your calls back to the way they were:
    Code:
    GsGuild:SetScript("OnEnter", OnEnter)
    Code:
    SetGsGuildText:SetText("Text line here")
    PS: You might want to always double-check your code for whether you unnecessarily use the global namespace - your OnEnter and OnLeave definitions as well as the strText varaible both violate it. Proper etiquette would be to use locals (as you can see exemplified by my OnEnter definition above).
    In case you're curious, this further ties in with the memory pointer handling of functions in Lua. Defining using "function" (in simple terms) creates a function object in memory from the function body, then saves a pointer to that memory location into a global variable with the name specified - "local function" on the other hand uses a local variable to store the function reference.

    Hope this clears it up a bit!

    PS: Make sure your functions (OnEnter and OnLeave) are defined before they are passed to SetScript.
    Last edited by Treeston; 2011-11-19 at 02:00 AM.
    UI & AddOns expert | Interface & Macros moderator - My work

  10. #9570
    The Patient Chakra's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Stockholm, Sweden.
    Posts
    324
    Hello. I'm looking for a addon that will UNMUTE wow when i enter combat. Is there such a addon? If not, does anyone know how to change the NPCSCAN addon to unmute upon entering combat rather than unmuting when finding a rare spawn? I have some problems getting ganked while afk'ing at a spawn location. =P
    "I don't have a complete healing set yet, but I am healing capped and MP5 capped, so I'm good."

  11. #9571
    Code:
    local f = CreateFrame("Frame")
    f:SetScript("OnEvent",function(s,e)
        if e == "PLAYER_REGEN_ENABLED" then
            SetCVar("Sound_EnableSFX","0")
        else
            SetCVar("Sound_EnableSFX","1")
        end
    end)
    f:RegisterEvent("PLAYER_REGEN_ENABLED")
    f:RegisterEvent("PLAYER_REGEN_DISABLED")
    How to use. Untested. Report back with issues.
    UI & AddOns expert | Interface & Macros moderator - My work

  12. #9572
    Im looking for a way to revert a setvertexcolor call made by blizzard:

    https://github.com/tekkub/wow-ui-sou...terationUI.xml (In row 318).

    I manage to add another color to it, but the 2 colors you melt and create a new one.

    What i'd like to to is to be able to set my own color and delete the color given by blizzard.
    ◘◘ Author of MiirGui Texture Pack - [Core] [Blue] [Grey] ◘◘

  13. #9573
    I am trying to nudge my raid into focusing more on avoiding the avoidable dmg in encounters. What are the good addons that can alert me or raid chat when someone has stood in fire. I found one on curse. Are there others?

  14. #9574
    I used to have an addon that activated on a keypress, which then opened a circular "actionbar", which could be configured into having buttons for Raid Markers, spells, abilities and stuff like that - can anyone help me remembering the name?

    - EDIT: Nvm, remembered it was OPie
    Last edited by Nuljan; 2011-11-20 at 04:52 PM.

  15. #9575
    Quote Originally Posted by Tanker View Post
    I am trying to nudge my raid into focusing more on avoiding the avoidable dmg in encounters. What are the good addons that can alert me or raid chat when someone has stood in fire. I found one on curse. Are there others?
    There are some that are just annoying and announce things as "fails" which in my opinion tend to be spammy, annoying, and demotivating. I really can't say enough good things about PhoenixStyle on the other hand to help your raid figure out where it can be improving at things when people aren't doing their job properly.

    Gershuun @ Borean Tundra US - Interface & Macros Moderator

  16. #9576
    Quote Originally Posted by Neza View Post
    Im looking for a way to revert a setvertexcolor call made by blizzard:

    https://github.com/tekkub/wow-ui-sou...terationUI.xml (In row 318).

    I manage to add another color to it, but the 2 colors you melt and create a new one.

    What i'd like to to is to be able to set my own color and delete the color given by blizzard.
    Are you sure that the XML <Color> tag is equivalent to the Lua :SetVertexColor call? I've done some testing, and it seems that vertex coloring is properly replaced on subsequent calls to SetVertexColor.

    In fact, upon looking at it again, I believe that the <Color> tag is equivalent to :SetTexture with numerical arguments (:SetTexture(r,g,b,a)), seeing as there is no texture file specified for the texture in question, and should thus be replaced by another :SetTexture call with the intended coloring.
    UI & AddOns expert | Interface & Macros moderator - My work

  17. #9577
    Quote Originally Posted by Treeston View Post
    Are you sure that the XML <Color> tag is equivalent to the Lua :SetVertexColor call? I've done some testing, and it seems that vertex coloring is properly replaced on subsequent calls to SetVertexColor.

    In fact, upon looking at it again, I believe that the <Color> tag is equivalent to :SetTexture with numerical arguments (:SetTexture(r,g,b,a)), seeing as there is no texture file specified for the texture in question, and should thus be replaced by another :SetTexture call with the intended coloring.
    I tried both; setvertexcolor and settexture, the results are better with settexure, but there is still some tintage of some sort.

    When setting the texture to 0,0,0,0 i end up with the purple tintage left, which is set by the xml tag i rather have to recolor that specific layer that lies over the texture?

    (talking about TransmogrifyFrameMarbleBg which doesnt seem to be the texture im looking for)
    Last edited by Miiru; 2011-11-21 at 09:46 AM.
    ◘◘ Author of MiirGui Texture Pack - [Core] [Blue] [Grey] ◘◘

  18. #9578
    Well, you'll have to :SetTexture the unnamed texture object at sublevel 2 which has the <Color> attribute. Try using :GetChildren on TransmogrifyModelFrame to access it.
    UI & AddOns expert | Interface & Macros moderator - My work

  19. #9579
    Quote Originally Posted by Treeston View Post
    Well, you'll have to :SetTexture the unnamed texture object at sublevel 2 which has the <Color> attribute. Try using :GetChildren on TransmogrifyModelFrame to access it.
    Tried
    /run kids = { TransmogrifyModelFrame:GetChildren() };for _,framechild in ipairs(kids) do print("-"..framechild:GetName() ); end
    which only returns TransmogrifyModelFrameControlFrame :/

    edit: maybe rather use getregions? shows 3 table entries

    edit2: yep seems to be it
    Last edited by Miiru; 2011-11-21 at 11:21 AM.
    ◘◘ Author of MiirGui Texture Pack - [Core] [Blue] [Grey] ◘◘

  20. #9580
    Yeah, never checked if GetChildren returns non-Frame-inheriting children. Apparently it doesn't, and you need :GetRegions for that.
    UI & AddOns expert | Interface & Macros moderator - My work

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •