Thread: Post Your UI

  1. #10861
    High Overlord Taik's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    That one special place
    Posts
    155
    Quote Originally Posted by mishh View Post


    Would love some feedback on how to improve my UI.

    In Combat - http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_7leAYpFTv8
    I would recommend getting something like CleanIcons to skin the WeakAura (I assume they are) icons for a better fit. Also maybe scale raidframes down abit, and go with class colored names and a static color for the bars, but If you are a raid-leader or anything I can easily understand why you would have them they way you do atm
    Otherwise its really nice and looks to be very efficient

  2. #10862
    Mechagnome Akshak's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    At The Inn, Drinking with the Dwarves
    Posts
    533
    Mish, what's the raid frames/party frames addon you're using? I remember using it in the past but it's been so long since I had it I can't recall the name.


    ** WoW (Aggramar) **
    Drphilidan (Vengeance Demon Hunter) / Talayleana (Guardian Druid)

  3. #10863
    The Lightbringer Joyful's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Sweee?
    Posts
    3,759
    Quote Originally Posted by Akshak View Post
    Mish, what's the raid frames/party frames addon you're using? I remember using it in the past but it's been so long since I had it I can't recall the name.
    It looks like vuhdo

  4. #10864
    Mechagnome Akshak's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    At The Inn, Drinking with the Dwarves
    Posts
    533
    Thanks Joyful - looking for a slightly bigger party/raid frames addon that Stuf but not one that causes my screen to become "busy" per say.


    ** WoW (Aggramar) **
    Drphilidan (Vengeance Demon Hunter) / Talayleana (Guardian Druid)

  5. #10865
    Quote Originally Posted by saami View Post
    Like it. It feel very... Ishtara:ish. Though the aura bars seems a bit out of place even though they aren't.



    Tell me what you think.
    It's a quite busy shot. Could have been better. I'm thinking of getting rid of the raid frames. There is no need for them when tanking.
    Hey would you mind sharing which nameplates you are using and what unitframes these are?

  6. #10866
    Quote Originally Posted by Bryce View Post
    *snip*

    I just don't think the WeakAuras are in a good spot for some reason though =/. I'm horrible at placing these things, any suggestions about em? BTW, string of debuffs in the middle of the screen are in a dynamic group, only 1 is shown at a time.
    How do you show both stacks and time on your WA icons?

  7. #10867
    Quote Originally Posted by sally View Post
    How do you show both stacks and time on your WA icons?
    tick cooldown

  8. #10868


    tidy plates
    plate buffs
    sArena
    class portraits
    unit frames improved
    interrupt bar
    MSBT
    and quartz because i ran out of macro space to script my cast bar bigger =O

    my UI used to be a clusterfuck of addons and boxes all the way across the bottom of my screen. i can see the game now, much better this way.
    Last edited by Treeston; 2013-05-01 at 07:11 PM.

  9. #10869
    Epic!
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Posts
    1,636
    Here's a raid shot for you all after some minor tweaks.



    higher quality

    PS anybody know how to hide the difficulty banner on the minimap? My code isn't working anymore.
    Random stuff WoW UI Enthusiast BNet
    Youtube Some old UIs Hulari#21213(EU)
    Stream (updated, usually wow.) Lastest UI (Roth's Diablo inspired) Go ahead, add me!

  10. #10870
    I've heard of people making "Pixel Perfect" UI's. Is there something to that? My resolution is 1920x1200

  11. #10871
    Quote Originally Posted by Dvorjak View Post
    I've heard of people making "Pixel Perfect" UI's. Is there something to that? My resolution is 1920x1200
    Not much to it. Just make sure your UI Scale is set to 768 / Screen Height (in your case, 768 / 1200 = 0.64, which is also the bottom of the UI Scale slider in System options) and you're now pixel perfect.

  12. #10872
    Quote Originally Posted by carebear View Post
    Here's a raid shot for you all after some minor tweaks.



    higher quality

    PS anybody know how to hide the difficulty banner on the minimap? My code isn't working anymore.
    Haven't really followed this thread much but damn..Care when were you back? I thought you sold your account cause of pandas being a new race...lol . Welcome back anyway.

    On the previous page are you still using Headline as your nameplates? Think that was the name of it.

    The only thing I can see on your ui you could consider changing is hiding the dps role icons on your raid frames maybe?

  13. #10873
    Quote Originally Posted by Dvorjak View Post
    I've heard of people making "Pixel Perfect" UI's. Is there something to that? My resolution is 1920x1200
    There are two approaches, one is via coding in the addon to handle that.

    The second is setting your UI scale so 1 pixel actually equals 1 unit in the UI positioning.
    That would need to be per-addon and so not a practical solution for most of us.

    The first can be achieved via a macro, but this will likely reposition/resize many UI/addon elements and the frames such as character, spellbook etc may be smaller.

    Code:
    /run SetCVar("uiScale", 768/string.match(({GetScreenResolutions()})[GetCurrentResolution()], "%d+x(%d+)"))
    Though something set to a size of x-pixels should then appear exactly that.
    Also set your multi-sampling to 1x in the video options, because that also affects your UI.
    Last edited by ComputerNerd; 2013-05-02 at 03:14 AM.

  14. #10874
    Field Marshal Sagryth's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    Finland
    Posts
    68
    I don't see why there's a need for a macro - all I had to do was disable the UI scale option and it automatically scaled the UI to what it's supposed to be in my resolution. Then there's multisampling - the way I see it, the UI is nothing more but an OVERLAY over the game graphics, and multisampling can only affects the game's graphics. It's not like FXAA that blurs everything, including the UI. At least it doesn't affect my UI at all. (Always have it on 8x and I've got pixel perfection.)

  15. #10875
    Quote Originally Posted by Sagryth View Post
    I don't see why there's a need for a macro - all I had to do was disable the UI scale option and it automatically scaled the UI to what it's supposed to be in my resolution. Then there's multisampling - the way I see it, the UI is nothing more but an OVERLAY over the game graphics, and multisampling can only affects the game's graphics. It's not like FXAA that blurs everything, including the UI. At least it doesn't affect my UI at all. (Always have it on 8x and I've got pixel perfection.)
    Disabling the slider will have a similar effect, yes. As for multisampling, the UI gets included. Not quite as simple as "it's not the actual 3D world so it doesn't", though I wish it were It's generally fine on frames that are set to exact X, Y positions, but on other frames you'll get blurriness.

    Left = 8x MultiSample, Right = 1x MultiSample

  16. #10876
    Quote Originally Posted by Sagryth View Post
    I don't see why there's a need for a macro - all I had to do was disable the UI scale option and it automatically scaled the UI to what it's supposed to be in my resolution. Then there's multisampling - the way I see it, the UI is nothing more but an OVERLAY over the game graphics, and multisampling can only affects the game's graphics. It's not like FXAA that blurs everything, including the UI. At least it doesn't affect my UI at all. (Always have it on 8x and I've got pixel perfection.)
    That must have been a fairly recent addition then.
    I was going by what was previously correct.
    It does still impact, even if the consequence is not obvious.

  17. #10877
    Mechagnome Akshak's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    At The Inn, Drinking with the Dwarves
    Posts
    533
    Quote Originally Posted by Joyful View Post
    It looks like vuhdo
    Tried VuhDo out last night and couldn't replicate what's in Mishh's screenshot - I even went so far as to check the colors tab and then the classes suboption but never could get it configured to show up as such.


    ** WoW (Aggramar) **
    Drphilidan (Vengeance Demon Hunter) / Talayleana (Guardian Druid)

  18. #10878
    Field Marshal Sagryth's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    Finland
    Posts
    68
    Quote Originally Posted by Nibelheim View Post
    Disabling the slider will have a similar effect, yes. As for multisampling, the UI gets included. Not quite as simple as "it's not the actual 3D world so it doesn't", though I wish it were It's generally fine on frames that are set to exact X, Y positions, but on other frames you'll get blurriness.

    Left = 8x MultiSample, Right = 1x MultiSample
    That's quite terrible then, I don't think I can play without multisampling :P.
    Much as I'd like UI perfection, I can't stand them jaggies in graphics.

  19. #10879

  20. #10880
    another masterpiece from kaitain ^-^

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •