1. #2621
    Hi, looking for a pretty complicated macro. I'd like it to do the following:

    1. Let me mouseover a target to heal them.
    2. If no mouseover target is there, to heal myself.
    3. If I have a friendly target targeted, to take priority over the mouseover so i heal that target.
    4. If I want to heal myself while targeting that friendly target, to use a shift modifier.

    is this possible? I will be so grateful if someone gives me one that works. This is an all in one macro btw that I can use for most healing spells and buffs.

  2. #2622
    Quote Originally Posted by crazed View Post
    Hi, looking for a pretty complicated macro. I'd like it to do the following:

    1. Let me mouseover a target to heal them.
    2. If no mouseover target is there, to heal myself.
    3. If I have a friendly target targeted, to take priority over the mouseover so i heal that target.
    4. If I want to heal myself while targeting that friendly target, to use a shift modifier.

    is this possible? I will be so grateful if someone gives me one that works. This is an all in one macro btw that I can use for most healing spells and buffs.
    This should cover all the things you ask for:
    Code:
    #showtooltip
    /cast [mod:shift,@player][help][@mouseover,help,nodead][@player]Heal

    Gershuun @ Borean Tundra US - Interface & Macros Moderator

  3. #2623
    you rock man!

  4. #2624
    Deleted
    Any input on why this macro shouldn't work? My character is an Undead DK (working on the assumption I don't need to Lichborne in order to benefit from the healing of Deah Coil)

    /cast [nomod:shift] Death Coil
    /cast [mod:shift, @player] Death Coil

    Thanks.

  5. #2625
    Quote Originally Posted by Helfarch View Post
    Any input on why this macro shouldn't work? My character is an Undead DK (working on the assumption I don't need to Lichborne in order to benefit from the healing of Deah Coil)

    /cast [nomod:shift] Death Coil
    /cast [mod:shift, @player] Death Coil

    Thanks.
    If you're suggesting that being of the Undead race makes you an undead target, that's incorrect. All players are humanoids in normal form.

  6. #2626
    Scarab Lord
    15+ Year Old Account
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    4,040
    Quote Originally Posted by Helfarch View Post
    Any input on why this macro shouldn't work? My character is an Undead DK (working on the assumption I don't need to Lichborne in order to benefit from the healing of Deah Coil)

    /cast [nomod:shift] Death Coil
    /cast [mod:shift, @player] Death Coil

    Thanks.
    The Undead Race is not of the "Undead" monster type - all players are considered "Humanoid" except while in shapechange forms (druids and shamans become beasts under bear/cat and wofl, frost dk's become undead under lichborne, etc).

    This has been true since some time in Vanilla Beta - until it became obvious that players-as-undead had too many bonuses and too many vulnerabilities to be balanced properly, so they made them into creature-type "Humanoid".

  7. #2627
    Deleted
    Tural, Taryble - thanks for the answers. I hadn't realised such a caveat applied (1st time I've rolled/taken an interest in a DK).../looks for my Newb Hat ;p

  8. #2628
    #showtooltip polymorph(rabbit)
    /cast Presence of Mind
    /cast Polymorph(Rabbit)
    /sw reset
    /sw play

    this will cast PoM then sheep and start the stopwatch timer so you can watch for the 45 seconds to be up without having to focus target
    even if you dont have the stopwatch active it will bring it up and reset it when you sheep again

  9. #2629
    Quote Originally Posted by batman13cr View Post
    #showtooltip polymorph(rabbit)
    /cast Presence of Mind
    /cast Polymorph(Rabbit)
    /sw 45
    /sw play

    this will cast PoM then sheep and start the stopwatch timer so you can watch for the 45 seconds to be up without having to focus target
    even if you dont have the stopwatch active it will bring it up and reset it when you sheep again
    I've fixed it for you. It sets timer for 45sec and countsdown to 0.


    Quote Originally Posted by Lich King
    "You speak of justice? Of cowardice? I will show you the justice of the grave... and the true meaning of fear."

  10. #2630

    Thumbs up

    Quote Originally Posted by Mordret View Post
    I've fixed it for you. It sets timer for 45sec and countsdown to 0.
    a simple but effective change, i like it. in fact ive already made the change.

  11. #2631
    Pandaren Monk personn5's Avatar
    10+ Year Old Account
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    US, Mississippi
    Posts
    1,752
    A friend of mine is asking me if I know how to make a macro, came here to ask.
    His question was: "Can you make a macro that will use trinkets if they are equipped, but not equip/switch them out of its not?"
    He wants to add it to his cooldown macros, and soemtimes he's not in combat when he hits it, so it sometimes will mess up his trinkets trying to equip ones he doesn't want.

  12. #2632
    Quote Originally Posted by personn5 View Post
    A friend of mine is asking me if I know how to make a macro, came here to ask.
    His question was: "Can you make a macro that will use trinkets if they are equipped, but not equip/switch them out of its not?"
    He wants to add it to his cooldown macros, and soemtimes he's not in combat when he hits it, so it sometimes will mess up his trinkets trying to equip ones he doesn't want.
    The easiest way to incorporate trinkets like that in macros is to put a combat condition like...

    Code:
    #showtooltip
    /use [combat]Moonwell Chalice
    /cast Shadow Bolt
    Or whatever... By having the combat condition, it won't swap or even use them out of combat, and will just use them if they are equipped in combat.

    Gershuun @ Borean Tundra US - Interface & Macros Moderator

  13. #2633
    Pandaren Monk personn5's Avatar
    10+ Year Old Account
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    US, Mississippi
    Posts
    1,752
    Quote Originally Posted by lawomous View Post
    The easiest way to incorporate trinkets like that in macros is to put a combat condition like...

    Code:
    #showtooltip
    /use [combat]Moonwell Chalice
    /cast Shadow Bolt
    Or whatever... By having the combat condition, it won't swap or even use them out of combat, and will just use them if they are equipped in combat.
    That would be nice, however he ALSO wanted it to work for when when he's out of combat (only use the trinkets), since he hits the macro before he enters combat.

  14. #2634
    Whats the point of using trinkets out of combat? The next time he does something while in combat the trinket will have it's full duration used up.

    Also sorry that I gave Moonwell Chalice as an example. They already fixed that to remove your Mastery when you take the trinket off, I just used an example of an on use trinket.
    Last edited by lawomous; 2011-09-21 at 04:06 PM.

    Gershuun @ Borean Tundra US - Interface & Macros Moderator

  15. #2635
    Best way would be to use '/use 13' and '/use 14' in the macro as the trinket slot instead of the trinket name.

    It won't incorrectly equip a trinket outside of combat but will have to be managed to make sure the correct trinkets are equiped prior to using the macro.

  16. #2636
    Deleted
    Quote Originally Posted by lawomous View Post
    Also sorry that I gave Moonwell Chalice as an example. They already fixed that to remove your Mastery when you take the trinket off, I just used an example of an on use trinket.
    About this part, do you happen to know if that removal also applies to the mastery snapshot of a WLs Metamorphosis?
    I.e., you use trinket, gain mastery, (fire meta, mastery is snapshot), remove trinket, lose mastery - will the Metamorphosis snapshot still be in effect (as I assume)?

  17. #2637
    Not sure, I guess it will snapshot the mastery if you use everything out of combat.
    Last edited by lawomous; 2011-09-21 at 04:14 PM.

    Gershuun @ Borean Tundra US - Interface & Macros Moderator

  18. #2638
    hey again,
    So i made this macro for my kick but it doesnt seem to work any ideas where i went wrong?

    #showtooltip Skull Bash(Cat Form)
    /cast [@focus,exists, stance:3] Skull Bash(Cat Form);[@focus,exists] Skull Bash(Bear Form)

    its ment to kick my target if i dont have a focus target, it only kicks my focus target though
    Last edited by prodruidlol; 2011-09-21 at 06:01 PM.
    Quote Originally Posted by Bashiok
    Posted by Bashiok
    Haha, don't worry about it. It's like, three clicks for me to suspend someone. It's super duper easy.

  19. #2639
    Quote Originally Posted by prodruidlol View Post
    hey again,
    So i made this macro for my kick but it doesnt seem to work any ideas where i went wrong?

    its ment to kick my target if i dont have a focus target, it only kicks my focus target though
    Try this:
    Code:
    #showtooltip [form:3]Skull Bash;Skull Bash(Bear Form)
    /cast [@focus,harm,nodead,form:3][form:3]Skull Bash;[@focus,harm,nodead][]Skull Bash(Bear Form)

    Gershuun @ Borean Tundra US - Interface & Macros Moderator

  20. #2640
    Deleted
    Quote Originally Posted by prodruidlol View Post
    hey again,
    So i made this macro for my kick but it doesnt seem to work any ideas where i went wrong?

    #showtooltip Skull Bash(Cat Form)
    /cast [@focus,exists, stance:3] Skull Bash(Cat Form);[@focus,exists] Skull Bash(Bear Form)

    its ment to kick my target if i dont have a focus target, it only kicks my focus target though
    Lawomous has providedthe answer I would have given already, let me just explain to you that the macro you wrote will not do anything if you don't have a focus target, due to the simple reason that in your macro, no conditional would be true if you didn't, so it doesn't do anything.
    That's why Law added the [form:3] and [] that return true also if you don't have a focus, so the macro has a reason to execute the spell.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •