1. #1
    Epic! nanook12's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Location
    Bakersfield California
    Posts
    1,721

    Does MMO-Champ Need to Upgrade their Servers?

    Sometimes I experience a fair amount of lag on this site. I know this forum gets a fair amount of foot traffic, but I also know it is not my computer because other sites load just fine, and it is not my ISP because I checked the latency.

    How long has it been since MMO-Champ servers were last upgraded?
    Last edited by nanook12; 2017-11-28 at 10:31 PM.
    "He who fights with monsters should be careful lest he thereby become a monster" (friedrich nietzsche).

  2. #2
    Old God vindicatorx's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Middle of Nowhere South Dakota
    Posts
    10,241
    Quote Originally Posted by nanook12 View Post
    Sometimes I experience a fair amount of lag on this site. I know this forum gets a fair amount of foot traffic, but I also know it is not my computer because other sites load just fie, and it is not my ISP because I checked the latency.

    How long has it been since MMO-Champ servers were last upgraded?
    I mean you can say you checked your latency but that doesn't mean it's not your end. I'm in the middle of South Dakota, I have zero lag time at all, ever except when I'm on my work's wireless connection.

  3. #3
    The Insane Orange Joe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    001100010010011110100001101101110011
    Posts
    16,060
    Quote Originally Posted by nanook12 View Post
    Sometimes I experience a fair amount of lag on this site. I know this forum gets a fair amount of foot traffic, but I also know it is not my computer because other sites load just fie, and it is not my ISP because I checked the latency.

    How long has it been since MMO-Champ servers were last upgraded?
    Someone doesn't understand how internet routing works.



    No lag on my end.

  4. #4
    The issue is on your end.

  5. #5
    Epic! nanook12's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Location
    Bakersfield California
    Posts
    1,721
    Quote Originally Posted by Orange Joe View Post
    Someone doesn't understand how internet routing works.



    No lag on my end.
    It is possible it is on my end maybe I have a failing ram card, but why can't we get some information on the mods when the site servers were last upgraded? I feel that is pretty fair question to ask.
    "He who fights with monsters should be careful lest he thereby become a monster" (friedrich nietzsche).

  6. #6
    Quote Originally Posted by Kuntantee View Post
    The issue is on your end.
    This.

    Quote Originally Posted by nanook12 View Post
    It is possible it is on my end maybe I have a failing ram card, but why can't we get some information on the mods when the site servers were last upgraded? I feel that is pretty fair question to ask.
    Mods have nothing to do with server administration.

  7. #7
    Free Food!?!?! Tziva's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Cretaceous Period
    Posts
    17,422
    Quote Originally Posted by nanook12 View Post
    why can't we get some information on the mods when the site servers were last upgraded? I feel that is pretty fair question to ask.
    No one said you can't ask; I moved your thread to S&F for that reason. The mods here don't have the knowledge answer to that question, but it's here for the admins if they feel compelled.

    I can say that we're not seeing anyone else reporting this issue, nor experiencing it ourselves so the issue is almost certainly local.
    For Moderation Concerns, please contact a Global:
    TzivaRadux SimcaElysiaZaelsinoxskarmaArleeVenara

  8. #8
    The Insane Orange Joe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    001100010010011110100001101101110011
    Posts
    16,060
    Quote Originally Posted by nanook12 View Post
    It is possible it is on my end maybe I have a failing ram card, but why can't we get some information on the mods when the site servers were last upgraded? I feel that is pretty fair question to ask.

    With internet routing it might not be on either end but in the middle.

  9. #9
    Epic! nanook12's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Location
    Bakersfield California
    Posts
    1,721
    Quote Originally Posted by Orange Joe View Post
    With internet routing it might not be on either end but in the middle.
    I donno, i just feel like a site has an obligation to its posters to maintain a fairly updated level of server technology. After all we forum goers are the ones that draw in loads of digital traffic with our threads and posts for them to make money off of through advertisements. Maybe they should recognize that and upgrade their servers with new tech to keep viewers happy.
    "He who fights with monsters should be careful lest he thereby become a monster" (friedrich nietzsche).

  10. #10
    The Insane Orange Joe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    001100010010011110100001101101110011
    Posts
    16,060
    Quote Originally Posted by nanook12 View Post
    I donno, i just feel like a site has an obligation to its posters to maintain a fairly updated level of server technology. After all we forum goers are the ones that draw in loads of digital traffic with our threads and posts for them to make money off of through advertisements. Maybe they should recognize that and upgrade their servers with new tech to keep viewers happy.

    You seem to have an entitlement issue here. They have no obligation to provide anything. Not saying you can't complain, but that doesn't mean they are obligated to do anything.

    You still don't seem to understand how internet routing works as you seem to want to blame mmochamp even though others have said it is fine.

    Here is a simple diagram to show you

    You = a
    mmo champ = b

    In the internet for a to get to b it may have to go through c, d, and e

    a--c--d--e--b


    meanwhile you going to say google (google is now f)

    a--g--t--f

    Meaning the problem could lie in c, d, or e.

  11. #11
    Does MMO-Champ Need to Upgrade their Servers?
    Nope. We don't currently need to do so.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •