1. #1
    High Overlord Ganador's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Seattle Burbs
    Posts
    167

    Pixio New PX277 Flickering Problem

    Just picked up a new 1440p 144hz Freesync monitor. The problem is, when I switch it to 144hz I get horrible horizontal lines, flickering, and black screens for a couple seconds. It works just fine at 60hz, but anything above it goes crazy. I have tried turning off freesync on both the monitor and in Catalyst. I am pretty sure I have tried everything.

    All drivers are up to date.
    I've reseated cables and all that jazz.
    Could the included DP cable not support 144hz?

    I don't have any friends nearby with computers that can display 144hz to test. (Recently Moved)

    Rig:
    FX-8150
    16gb gskill ram
    R9 290 Vapor-x
    750w OCZ PSU
    (My AM4 build parts are currently arriving, just waiting on Vega 56 to either restock or 3rd party coolers to arrive)


    Any Ideas before I contact them for an RMA?

  2. #2
    The Insane DeltrusDisc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Illinois, USA
    Posts
    18,168
    The included DP cable should absolutely support 144Hz. I'd say you could try testing it by buying a new DP cable and seeing if you get the same issue. If you get the same issue, send the monitor back, if you don't, knock off a star/point on their review on whatever site you bought it through and let people know that the cable was a dud. Manufacturers have been known to include poor quality cables, though usually they were VGA or DVI. I had a DVI cable that came with my old Acer S211HL and it was bad. Ended up using the VGA cable for a while.
    [email protected] | Noctua NH-D15 | eVGA GTX 1080 Ti FTW3 [email protected] core - 12GHz VRAM | 32GB DDR4 | 256GB NVMe | 775GB SSD | 7TB HDD | SeaSonic 750w 80+ Titanium PRIME | Fractal Design Define R4
    Samsung 34" 3440x1440 Curved | Schiit MODI 2 + ASGARD 2 | Schiit WYRD | Sennheiser HD 598 | Presonus Eris E5x2 | KRK 10S Subwoofer | Shure BETA 58A Microphone

  3. #3
    High Overlord Ganador's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Seattle Burbs
    Posts
    167
    I feel like if it was a bad cable i would be having problems at 60hz. I guess I can run to the store and hopefully that works. Its a lovely monitor. I could tolerate it if i didnt know I paid for the extra Hz and Freesync.

  4. #4
    The Insane DeltrusDisc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Illinois, USA
    Posts
    18,168
    You'd be surprised. Sometimes things won't work at higher-levels but will work fine for lower levels. I wouldn't be surprised if that's the case here.
    [email protected] | Noctua NH-D15 | eVGA GTX 1080 Ti FTW3 [email protected] core - 12GHz VRAM | 32GB DDR4 | 256GB NVMe | 775GB SSD | 7TB HDD | SeaSonic 750w 80+ Titanium PRIME | Fractal Design Define R4
    Samsung 34" 3440x1440 Curved | Schiit MODI 2 + ASGARD 2 | Schiit WYRD | Sennheiser HD 598 | Presonus Eris E5x2 | KRK 10S Subwoofer | Shure BETA 58A Microphone

  5. #5
    High Overlord Ganador's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Seattle Burbs
    Posts
    167
    Came back to confirm that my problems were caused by a crappy cable and that a new certified cable fixed it. Now to regret purchasing a freeSync monitor as I will probably never get a Vega card for msrp.

  6. #6
    The Insane DeltrusDisc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Illinois, USA
    Posts
    18,168
    Quote Originally Posted by Ganador View Post
    Came back to confirm that my problems were caused by a crappy cable and that a new certified cable fixed it. Now to regret purchasing a freeSync monitor as I will probably never get a Vega card for msrp.
    Are you out of the return window? You could claim doa thanks to the cable and force them to take it back...
    [email protected] | Noctua NH-D15 | eVGA GTX 1080 Ti FTW3 [email protected] core - 12GHz VRAM | 32GB DDR4 | 256GB NVMe | 775GB SSD | 7TB HDD | SeaSonic 750w 80+ Titanium PRIME | Fractal Design Define R4
    Samsung 34" 3440x1440 Curved | Schiit MODI 2 + ASGARD 2 | Schiit WYRD | Sennheiser HD 598 | Presonus Eris E5x2 | KRK 10S Subwoofer | Shure BETA 58A Microphone

  7. #7
    Quote Originally Posted by Ganador View Post
    Came back to confirm that my problems were caused by a crappy cable and that a new certified cable fixed it. Now to regret purchasing a freeSync monitor as I will probably never get a Vega card for msrp.
    Hi there,

    I recently purchased this monitor and am having the same issues principally with the black screen flickering. Even after I bought a new VESA certified DP cable and i still have it. I don't know if it has to do with Freesync compatibility with the game or what.. Any other ideas on troubleshooting before I follow suit with RMA?

    Thanks

  8. #8
    I have the same issue going on. What cable did u get?

  9. #9
    I got the Accell DisplayPort 1.2 Cable with Locking Latches on Amazon ( Can't post link yet). Does the flickering happen for all games for you or just certain ones?

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •