Advice needed on a Woman

Ok, so I'm 21, I'm an attractive, decent and fairly intelligent person. I've had a few girlfriends and a three year long relationship so I have healthy knowledge of women but I just can't for the life of me understand THIS woman.

But before that, I must tell you, I'm not that good with women, never have been a "player", or a guy who just chooses someone and get her. I've hit a bit of a snag recently and I think I'm just making things complicated in my head. Let me tell you a typical story.

First day of work, I come in, meet fellow colleagues, get shown around by the manager, walk past a fellow colleague called "Jess", and give her a smile. She looks but averts her gaze immediately. Don't really think anything of it. Later on, I end up working with her for a while, I say Hi, but she has headphones on, so I guess she didn't hear me? (I'm not trying to hit on her, I'm genuinely just trying to be friendly). Come in the next day, and it's the same damn thing. I look at her, smile like I do with everyone, and all I get is a cold look and then she looks away. I'm not looking to please everyone, so I just give up. I think it's a little rude to be honest, but what pisses me off, is she talks to everybody else. She doesn't even notice I'm there.

anyway, my shyness kicks in, and find myself freezing in awkwardness every time I'm near her.

One night, we are both waiting to be let in and I talk to her. She seems alright, maybe just a bit quiet, we have a rather limited conversation as she mainly just gives yes/no answers. Next day. I see her, give her a hearty smile and she does it again. That cold barren look, and then looks away and brings back all that awkward tension which is very uncomfortable.

What the fuck is wrong with me? Is it the way I walk, do I have something on my face?