Thread: Shadow AOE

Page 1 of 2
LastLast
    10+ Year Old Account

Shadow AOE

So I know devs already said Shadow AOE was already lacking, I'm fine with that (or at least 'get it'). The question remains, how do we maximize what we have?

Is it...

SWP+VT on everything?
    SWP on everything + MS?
    VT on everything + MS?
    MS when there are X number of targets?
    SWP on everything and then normal single target on main target?

Is there a threshold where multidotting (which devs keep reminding us is what they 'want') where it becomes a dps loss over single target?

What about just 2-3 mobs? Single target, or multidot? All?

I would be interested to see some actively raiding Spriest weigh in their opinions here.

10+ Year Old Account
    im no pro but i put VT,SWP on everything and then use MS would love to see some opinions also.

Deleted
    Ignoring sear for now (since I really don't know the maths involved). You're going to get best DPS from getting as many SW: Ps out as possible. VT is less damage per cast. However, without VTs you'll go oom. I think it really depends on how many mobs are involved. 4-6 I'd probably spam arund SW: Ps then follow up with VTs. If I saw my mana dropping I'd start incorporating more VTs to keep the mana up.

I'd be interested to know how many targets makes mind sear better than spamming SW: P

10+ Year Old Account
    I've also noticed that not only does mind sear suck, but when there are TOO many mobs, it gets capped, and sucks on the top end as well.

Personally I've done well throwing pain on as many as possible(with Divine Insight talented), throw VT on one or two for mana, then use halo/divine/cascade, use any MB procs as they come, refresh pain.
    I haven't bothered to sim it yet, but my thought is to essentially get as many MB procs as possible. I only use sear in between.