Page 1 of 2
LastLast

windows 8 worth it?

im going to build a pc in the next few months not sure to get windows 7 or get 8, i been reading on some games are having problems and my real worry is the hardware issues. just want some idea on what would be best
    ''i'm not drunk, i'm Scottish''

I've been using Windows 8 now for a couple of months without issue. Everything is smooth and nice. I'm not sure that it's better than Windows 7, but everything feels sleeker, and the start up time is almost certainly quicker.

I've been using Windows 8 since it launched for the download upgrade.

It's faster, smoother and just overall better quality. The only thing is the metro UI takes time to get used to but it's not as bad as people make it seem. There are even work arounds to get the old start menu back.

Overall... yes get Windows 8 instead.

I've been using Windows 8 for a few days now, couldn't pass it up while it still was cheap. I've been using Start8 all the time and I hardly notice any difference from Windows 7.
    Intel i5-3570K @ 4.7GHz | MSI Z77 Mpower | Noctua NH-D14 | Corsair Vengeance LP White 1.35V 8GB 1600MHz
    Gigabyte GTX 670 OC Windforce 3X @ 1372/7604MHz | Corsair Force GT 120GB | Silverstone Fortress FT02 | Corsair VX450

I have been hearing both good and bad things about windows 8. Friend of mine was using it and he said it was faster and cleaner.
    I work at a local electronic store, and talked to a few people wanting us to install windows 7 for them after they installed windows 8. Dont know if it was cause of problem with hardware/games, or if they just didnt like it.
    to each is own i guess. I'm sticking with windows7 for now.
    mmo-champion has become full of trolls and bad admins.

10+ Year Old Account