Page 1 of 12
... LastLast

Marketing; Has it gone to far?

So i'm currently studying classical contitionaling, within psychology and i found a few examples on what different companies acctually do to campain there product. McDonald founding the olympics to make customers feeling that they can reach the same hight as a olympic athlete. My quesition is: has this recearch gone to far? do you think that the big companies has gone to deep into a human mind in order to market there produtcs. Like when you go into a food store, you think that you choose what you want to eat. but many times, marketing is the reason why you choose that brand or a different type of consumtion than a competetor of said product.

In general you think that you are in control of what you buy. But massive companies have investet billions in research and development in this field.
    Ethicly i mean that this is wrong, but i am afraid that company greed overweights my tiny voice.

I now invite you to respond how you feel. Do you find it wrong or are you okay with this? Please share a thought or two on this subject.
    I would love to perhaps create a discussion.

If McDonalds providing sponsorship money towards the Olympics makes you think eating McDonalds will turn you into an olympic athelete you should be removed from society, for that level of stupidity is potentially fatal to those around you.

10+ Year Old Account
    Quote Originally Posted by critterkiller View Post
    In general you think that you are in control of what you buy.
    You are still in control of what you buy until someone comes up with a gun to your head and changes that.

Marketing is just seeking to influence your behavior. It is only as effective as the target lets it be.

Companies can do all the research they want -- until they actually do something that eliminates choice, there is nothing unethical about it. (Unless they are invading privacy or violating do not call laws, etc.)
    Forum badass alert: