How did you decide which college / university to attend?

My daughter is trying to decide now..... anyway it brought back memories of how I not only picked my college but why I decided to attend college at all.

First off, I had no plans at all to attend college. I was a machinist right out of high school. I rather enjoyed it until someone else' mistake nearly cost me my eyesight. At that point I knew I wanted out of being a machinist.

Anyway, one weekend I went to visit a buddy at a college about 60 miles from home. We went inside a dorm that was only for women. This was 1982, so things are surely different now. Anyway, we were inside his friend's room. Two girls lived there. They needed to get changed so they asked us to step out into the hallway while they got dressed.

Back then, each floor had just 2 phones for the whole floor. While we were waiting, the phone rang, and women came running out of their rooms wearing only lingerie.... that was the start of it.... throughout the weekend I had lots of "close encounters" with several women, but no actual sex of any kind.... but I had an absolute blast. By Monday morning I knew that I was going to apply to attend that college ( now a university ).

Sure, it was a super stupid reason to pick a college, but it served me well. I ended up working in my field for 22 years, and was able to retire before I was 50 years old.

So, how did you pick your college or university?
    Last edited by GarlicGuy; 2015-01-08 at 03:26 AM. Reason: skipped a word.

Stayed close to home for undergrad because I was excessively young.

Went with the best school that was within driving distance of home for graduate research.