Page 1 of 2
LastLast
    Deleted

Standing behind mobs

So here's a laugh for you. I've been playing since 2007, have raided Mythic and for whatever reason I'm still not 100% sure about standing behind mobs as melee dps. Is standing behind mobs a dps increase now and why? If not now, was it ever? In the back of my mind I've always wondered. Is that why people run around in constant circles in PvP?

Once you're done laughing I'd appreciate a reply.

Thanks.

Mobs and players can parry/dodge/block your attacks from the front, but not from the back.

This was mostly a concern prior to the removal of the Expertise stat, but it still happens today, albeit at a reduced chance.
    Last edited by Netherspark; 2016-08-25 at 08:22 PM.

Not 100% it is still a thing, but you can't parry(or dodge maybe?) from behind and mobs can't either. Leading to it being a dps increase. And of course rogues with backstab.
    s(^.^)-b

Not 100% sure if it still applies today as I haven't tested it lately. But before, you stood behind them because they had a reduced chance to dodge\parry, especially back when we had to focus on Expertise.

Pretty sure it still applies today because I find on my melee toons when I'm doing old dungeons, range pretty much always kills the bosses faster, because none of my attacks are parried. Where as melee, I can pretty much always see 1-2 attacks parried and it really sucks when It's a big attack like an Execute.

Not sure that applies in PvP, cause I don't pvp much.

To add on to the first couple replies. Your target generally can't attack people behind it and many bosses have frontal cleaves.
    Quote Originally Posted by Slummish View Post
    I don't get it. I've gone AFK a million times to blow my bf so he'd get off my back and let me raid. What's the problem here? People have sex...

Deleted
    Watch out for the tail swipe!

Deleted
    There is a few different attempts at the truth here but here are the facts: