New to BGs, are there any maps?

So I've done nothing but PVE the entire time I've played wow. I started before BGs existed (I started playing right before Dire Maul was added, whatever patch that was) I did a bit of world pvp back in the day but that was about it.

Well I've started messing around and WSG, EotS, and AB are pretty common sense but I'm completely confused on the other BGs.

AV: I know your suposed to go to the other factions base and kill their general but I have no clue what all the other stuff in the middle is for.

SotA: No clue at all

IoC: Looks to me like a ramped up AV with siege. I have heard people talk about seaforium but have no clue where to get it or even where I would use it. Don't know the uniqueness of each each vehicle or base.

Basically I'm wondering if there is a FAQ anywhere or maybe labeled maps or just strategies. I mean farming honor is fine, but I hate just leaching points without having any clue whats going on.

Re: New to BGs, are there any maps?

AV

The generals are very difficult to kill in a pug without removing their adds. For every enemy tower that you successfully destroy, one enemy add despawns. The graveyards are there to assist you in capturing the towers and assaulting the main base.

SotA

Simplest battleground in the game. Vehicles and bombs damage the gates. Players on offense carry bombs and drive vehicles; players on defense kill bomb carriers and tanks. The goal on offense is to destroy the final, southernmost gate faster than the other team. The goal on defense is to prevent them from reaching that gate.

IoC

Most complex battleground in the game with a variety of winning strategies. The goal is ultimately to kill the enemy general; however, he isn't accessible until at least one of the three enemy fortress gates is destroyed.