Thread: MM mastery cap?

MM mastery cap?

If this is already posted somewhere I apologize for the repeat, but I got to thinking about mastery for MM and if it's a percentage base proc, it has to have a cap at 100% chance, right?

So I got to doing some math (not my strongest suit so if it's wrong I'm sorry!!!) We start with a base 14.4% Wild Quiver proc chance, meaning we'd need 85.6% more at 1.8%/mastery to reach 100% proc chance. Using my gear on the PTR I got a mastery rating:mastery ratio of 45.9:1.

I did 85.6 / 1.8 to give mastery needed, which is 47.55 mastery needed to cap. Using the ratio I found it ends up being 2183 mastery rating to give us 100% chance to proc an additional shot off of all ranged abilities. This also applies to Ele shaman, Arms warriors, and Combat rogues, all of whom have a proc based masteries like MM does.

is there an ICD on the proc though?

I don't think so. I was testing DPS earlier and my MSBT showed (2 Crit, 2 Hit) or whatever it says when it combines numbers, so I don't think there's an ICD

Mastery will not scale all the way to 100% like that. It almost certainly has to have diminishing returns. If somebody can prove me wrong, I'll concede that, but you shouldn't be able to get 100% Mastery anymore than you should be able to get 100% dodge.

10+ Year Old Account
    I would be surprised if they gave Mastery a DR...they'd most likely nerf it first. That's what they did to Survival, after all.
    "WoW is a game about upgrading your stuff." - Ghostcrawler

Quote Originally Posted by Cilraaz
    anachronistic hypocrites
    Oh noes! We're time traveling hypocrites!

your math would seem to be correct sir, but how likely is it to get 2k mastery rating? granted..... by the time we get to patch 4.4 or stats are gonna be inflated quite a bit and you can stack gems and enchants plus reforging to get alot of mastery.... but at what cost?