1. #2641
    I am Murloc! Rixis's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Hyrule
    Posts
    5,379
    Quote Originally Posted by DeltrusDisc View Post
    So either a. you have a huge fucking house or b. you are upstairs or downstairs from the kitchen with your computer and probably on the other side of the house.

    25 meters? oh come on you can do it! Totally safe! XD

    ---------- Post added 2011-08-27 at 08:57 PM ----------



    that's creepy... the back of your case almost looks identical to mine. Do you have the NZXT Sentry 2 fan controller too? >_>
    a haf 912 case and a sentry 2 yes :P

  2. #2642
    Warchief Prixie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Oostende, Belgium
    Posts
    2,016
    Quote Originally Posted by Cyanotical View Post
    step 1: buy new house

    j/k


    if you can, get 50 ft of copper wire, like the kind used to ground tv antenna's from lightning, attach one end to metal on your computer case, attach the other end to a metal cold water pipe
    Or just run it halfway through your garden and then straight down into the ground.
    \\ My signature got removed because it was 21,12 Kb over the limitation \\

  3. #2643
    I just built this about a week ago on a budget that was not terribly big.
    CPU: AMD Phenom II x4 955 BE @ 3.2ghz
    mobo: Gigabyte 870A USB3
    RAM: Kingston HyperX Blu 8gb 2x4 1600mhz
    GPU: EVGA Geforce GTX 550ti
    Case: Cooler Master elite 430
    Sound card: My old SB audigy platinum
    CPU cooler: Cooler Master Hyper n520
    PSU: Corsair Builder series cx600v2
    Hdd 500gb WD caviar black





    Mind you there was a 600-700$ budget and the only thing that was useable from my old PC was the soundcard. I'm totally happy with it and its a massive upgrade from my old POS. Case has no cable management to speak of but some creative use of zip ties fix it up a bit, the cables are much more tidy then the pics actually show. One day down the line i would like to get a better video card but this was the best my budget allowed and fankly is plenty for what little i do.
    Last edited by OffC3nter; 2011-08-27 at 10:06 PM.

  4. #2644
    Fluffy Kitten Marest's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    4,232
    Quote Originally Posted by OffC3nter View Post
    Mind you there was a 600-700$ budget and the only thing that was useable from my old PC was the soundcard. I'm totally happy with it and its a massive upgrade from my old POS. Case has no cable management to speak of but some creative use of zip ties fix it up a bit, the cables are much more tidy then the pics actually show. One day down the line i would like to get a better video card but this was the best my budget allowed and fankly is plenty for what little i do.
    For such a tight budget that computer looks amazing. You could probably work on the cable-management a bit though. In either case, nice build!

  5. #2645
    got my 4,5GHz oc down to 1,340V now. its looking better and better.

    i think i might even try to aim for 4,8GHz now. just waiting for the srews for my h100 rad, so i can run push/pull
    Intel i5 2500K: Asus Masimux IV Extreme: Palit GTX 680 Jetstream: Chieftec Nitro Series 1200W:Corsair H-100 Hydro:
    8Gb Corsair Vengeance 1600 Mhz CL8: Crucial M4 128Gb+256Gb: Creative Sound Blaster Z: Corsair Obsidian 800D: Plextor PX-880SA

  6. #2646
    The Patient Cavus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    California
    Posts
    273
    So the main reason my cable management was so bad is that my PSU has notoriusly short cables (the 8pin power cable made me rage). I have a bajillion zipties (like 20 spent on ghetto rigging a fan to the side panel and yet they charged me 5 bucks for like 100). Anyway I'll work on it and hopefully get some sweet pics of my ghetto rigged fan, etc!

    EDIT: Also gonna do some overclocking (hopefully) tomorrow, I just am in desperate need for a guide on how to overclock an i5 2500k on a P8Z68-V-Pro (including software and whatnot). If anyone could hook me up with that I'd be super grateful!

    Proud Member of Respected and Despised (SWTOR USA PST Empire).
    Dark Days are Coming....

  7. #2647
    The Insane DeltrusDisc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Illinois, USA
    Posts
    15,372
    Quote Originally Posted by Cavus View Post
    So the main reason my cable management was so bad is that my PSU has notoriusly short cables (the 8pin power cable made me rage). I have a bajillion zipties (like 20 spent on ghetto rigging a fan to the side panel and yet they charged me 5 bucks for like 100). Anyway I'll work on it and hopefully get some sweet pics of my ghetto rigged fan, etc!

    EDIT: Also gonna do some overclocking (hopefully) tomorrow, I just am in desperate need for a guide on how to overclock an i5 2500k on a P8Z68-V-Pro (including software and whatnot). If anyone could hook me up with that I'd be super grateful!
    http://www.overclock.net/intel-cpus/...king-tips.html

    zing!
    i7-5820K | ASUS X99- Deluxe | Crucial 2x8GB DDR4 2133MHz | eVGA GTX 760 SC | Crucial MX100 512GB | Crucial M500 240GB | Crucial m4 128GB | Western Digital Blue 1TB | Western Digital Black 1TB | SeaSonic X660 Gold
    ASUS MX239H | Schiit Stack Modi + Asgard 2 | Sennheiser HD598 | Audio Technica ATH-AD700 | Presonus Eris E5 Studio Monitors | Blue Snowball Mic | Razer Death Adder | Corsair K70 | CyberPower 1500PFCLCD UPS

  8. #2648
    The Patient Cavus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    California
    Posts
    273
    God damnit I spent like 4 hours scouring OCN for something basically exactly like that. :/

    2 things:

    Do I need to take things into special consideration on my board?
    Is CPU Voltage that same as CPU Multiplier?
    Last edited by Cavus; 2011-08-28 at 07:44 AM.

    Proud Member of Respected and Despised (SWTOR USA PST Empire).
    Dark Days are Coming....

  9. #2649
    The Insane DeltrusDisc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Illinois, USA
    Posts
    15,372
    Quote Originally Posted by Cavus View Post
    God damnit I spent like 4 hours scouring OCN for something basically exactly like that. :/

    2 things:

    Do I need to take things into special consideration on my board?
    Is CPU Voltage that same as CPU Multiplier?
    What things are you talking about?
    CPU Voltage is the actual amount of volts going into your CPU.... the multiplier is basically how many times the frequency will be multiplied by. The higher the multi, the more volts you'll need. Typically 1.3V is good enough for most 2500Ks up to the 4.3-4.4ish area. Any further and you'd have to tweak the voltage upward.
    i7-5820K | ASUS X99- Deluxe | Crucial 2x8GB DDR4 2133MHz | eVGA GTX 760 SC | Crucial MX100 512GB | Crucial M500 240GB | Crucial m4 128GB | Western Digital Blue 1TB | Western Digital Black 1TB | SeaSonic X660 Gold
    ASUS MX239H | Schiit Stack Modi + Asgard 2 | Sennheiser HD598 | Audio Technica ATH-AD700 | Presonus Eris E5 Studio Monitors | Blue Snowball Mic | Razer Death Adder | Corsair K70 | CyberPower 1500PFCLCD UPS

  10. #2650
    I'm sure he's just checking that they're using the same names. Going from UEFI to BIOS or reverse will offer some minor variations. Still, I'm pretty sure the Asus models are all UEFI, which is what the guide should be using.

    Looking for that damned Gigabyte one I knew they had before...

    Ah, here we go.

  11. #2651
    gonna have to read that post a bit later on, cause my overclock is still kind of dodgy. i knew i should have gone with a more popular mobo. D:

  12. #2652
    Herald of the Titans Platinus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Stockholm, Sweden
    Posts
    2,996



    Stupid Macbook.... And the second desktop pc is from like 2004 and can't really run any games so I use it for browsing. Upgrading to a brand new PC next month. Looking forward to it!
    Last edited by Platinus; 2011-08-28 at 12:53 PM.

    [email protected] | GeForce GTX 760 | 8GB DDR3-1600MHz | Samsung 840 120GB SSD | 1+2TB HDD | Gigabyte Z68XP-UD3 | Corsair CX V2 500W | NZXT Phantom | 2x 24" 1920x1080 | Qpad MK-80 MX Blue | Logitech G600

  13. #2653
    Mechagnome Hmmster's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Finland
    Posts
    734
    The NH-D14 is now on! Finally!
    pictures taken with my phone, since I don't have a camera, and card readers are a pain in the ass.
    Edited out the photos of me three years ago and my parents' wedding in the background!
    http://imgur.com/a/PeaWT
    Last edited by Hmmster; 2011-08-28 at 02:39 PM.
    I'm a Communist. Take this information as you please. I'm always up for debates in PM!

  14. #2654
    Legendary! Asmekiel's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Maybe over there
    Posts
    6,654
    Quote Originally Posted by Hmmster View Post
    The NH-D14 is now on! Finally!
    pictures taken with my phone, since I don't have a camera, and card readers are a pain in the ass.
    http://imgur.com/a/gsQDP
    Awesome, passive cooled NH-D14. What temps do you get with that?
    If that's not how it looks now, then I'll try out when I get mine :P

  15. #2655
    Processor: AMD Athlon(tm) II X2 240 Processor (2 CPUs), ~2.8GHz
    Memory: 4096MB RAM
    Hard Drive: 1012 GB
    Video Card: ATI Radeon HD 5500 Series
    Monitor: Samsung 21` f HD
    Sound Card: Speakers (VIA High Definition Audio)
    Speakers/Headphones: Genius clasics
    Keyboard: RAZER Arctosa
    Mouse: A4Tech Glaser
    Operating System: Windows 7 Ultimate 32-bit (6.1, Build 7600)

  16. #2656
    High Overlord
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Belgium
    Posts
    181
    Bought mine in January 2010. Payed 500 eu for my cards, they were way overpriced back then, I should have waited. I also regret buying my SSD, it's not worth the money, maybe it is now, with the newer series, idk.

    Processor: i7 860 @ 3.5GHz
    Memory: 4GB DDR3 1333MHz
    Hard Drive: 1TB & 80GB SSD
    Video Card: HD 5850 1GB x2
    Monitor: Samsung 24"
    Speakers/Headphones: Logitech 5.1
    Keyboard: Razer Lycosa
    Mouse: Roccat Kova +
    Operating System: Windows 7 Professional 64-bit SP1


  17. #2657
    Fluffy Kitten Marest's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    4,232
    Quote Originally Posted by Astug View Post
    Bought mine in January 2010. Payed 500 eu for my cards, they were way overpriced back then, I should have waited. I also regret buying my SSD, it's not worth the money, maybe it is now, with the newer series, idk.

    Processor: i7 860 @ 3.5GHz
    Memory: 4GB DDR3 1333MHz
    Hard Drive: 1TB & 80GB SSD
    Video Card: HD 5850 1GB x2
    Monitor: Samsung 24"
    Speakers/Headphones: Logitech 5.1
    Keyboard: Razer Lycosa
    Mouse: Roccat Kova +
    Operating System: Windows 7 Professional 64-bit SP1

    <img snip>
    Is that a molex adapter I see for one of the GPUs? Also, you should set up that 5.1 surround speaker system properly ^^

  18. #2658
    Mechagnome Hmmster's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Finland
    Posts
    734
    Quote Originally Posted by Asmekiel View Post
    Awesome, passive cooled NH-D14. What temps do you get with that?
    If that's not how it looks now, then I'll try out when I get mine :P
    You didn't happen to notice the two fans laying beside it? =p You have to have those off to screw it on.
    I'm a Communist. Take this information as you please. I'm always up for debates in PM!

  19. #2659
    High Overlord
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Belgium
    Posts
    181
    Quote Originally Posted by Marest View Post
    Is that a molex adapter I see for one of the GPUs? Also, you should set up that 5.1 surround speaker system properly ^^
    I'm sorry but I don't know what a molex adapter is. If you are referring to the thing between my video cards, that's my sound card (Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Xtreme Audio). I bought it a couple of months after my build, because I was getting strange noises and constant low static through my speakers.

    I know I should, but then the cables would be all over.

  20. #2660
    Legendary! Asmekiel's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Maybe over there
    Posts
    6,654
    Quote Originally Posted by Hmmster View Post
    You didn't happen to notice the two fans laying beside it? =p You have to have those off to screw it on.
    I know But seeing how the NH-D14 performs without fans would be nice. I only saw reviews so far with the fans at low speed, but nothing so far without fans :P

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •