1. #5941
    The Insane DeltrusDisc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Illinois, USA
    Posts
    15,028
    Front side.... please? O_o Either way that looks excellent.

  2. #5942
    That's not the RV01. Still the Level 10 GT. Just took the photo for a small discussion elsewhere about cable management.

  3. #5943

  4. #5944
    TOTALLY NOT
    Banned
    tetrisGOAT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    12,478
    I swapped my SSDs, notebook<->Desktop
    And for some reason, I thought it'd be a good idea to open up my older notebook as well (C2D T5800, M9600GS, 4GiB DDR2, Bluray, coffeepot)

    http://i.imgur.com/xmxa5.jpg
    http://i.imgur.com/eiGsb.jpg
    (Cameraphone (SGSII), too lazy to charge the camera)

    Also. Working in the middle of the night, with -15°C (+5°F) sucks. And yes, I work outdoors.
    Last edited by tetrisGOAT; 2012-02-05 at 07:22 PM.

  5. #5945
    Pandaren Monk
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Somewhere over the rainbow.
    Posts
    1,966
    My gaming rig is as follows!

    Keyboard:
    Logitech G19

    Mouse:
    Corsair Vengeance M90

    Headset:
    Logitech G35

    Monitor:
    ACER 24" LED S242HLABID

    Case:
    Nexus Prominent R (will be changing to Corsair Obsidian 650D this summer)

    CPU Cooling:
    Corsair H60

    CPU:
    i7 2600K

    RAM:
    Corsair Vengeance 1600 16GB 4x4GB kit

    GPU:
    Gigabyte HD6970 (will be switching to Asus HD7970 this summer)

    Mobo:
    Gigabyte GA-Z68X-UD3H-B3 (will either be switching to an Asus Maximus IV or possibly a new socket 2011 card and a new 2011 CPU)

    HDD1:
    OCZ Vertex 3 120GB

    HDD2:
    Western Digital 2TB Green

    HDD3:
    Samsung Spinpoint F1 1TB

    Everything is basically stock atm, my mobo sucks for propper overclocking so I'll wait til I actually have a propper mobo for that purpouse.

  6. #5946
    The Insane DeltrusDisc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Illinois, USA
    Posts
    15,028
    Your motherboard is a great overclocker, actually...

    ---------- Post added 2012-02-05 at 07:38 PM ----------

    Quote Originally Posted by tetrisGOAT View Post
    Looks like you were having some fun tetris! Finally we get a new picture from you! ^_^

  7. #5947
    Pandaren Monk
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Somewhere over the rainbow.
    Posts
    1,966
    Quote Originally Posted by DeltrusDisc View Post
    Your motherboard is a great overclocker, actually...
    It's decent at it, but it is somewhat unstable at times I had my CPU clocked to 4.5 for a good while, and the mobo just decided it didn't want to play ball anymore, so I scrapped it for now while I plan my next rig(which will be this summer).

  8. #5948
    Errrrrrr, that's not a mobo limitation imo. o.o

  9. #5949
    Pandaren Monk
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Somewhere over the rainbow.
    Posts
    1,966
    Quote Originally Posted by Drunkenvalley View Post
    Errrrrrr, that's not a mobo limitation imo. o.o
    We found out it was, we had it at the bench at work for 4 days testing, tweaking and configuring various features and settings.

  10. #5950
    That sounds more like a defect than limitation. It should handle 4.5 GHz easy so long as the board is properly functional.

  11. #5951
    TOTALLY NOT
    Banned
    tetrisGOAT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    12,478
    Remember that there are loop-dips when it comes to overclocking. Your system may be stable at every frequency, but for some reason, it gets a black hole at a specific frequence. And above and below, it's fine.

    Also, the motherboard in question isn't really an overclockers motherboard, but it's not expressedly bad at it. I would however not doubt that it is the motherboard, in fact, that is the culprit. Sounds likely.

  12. #5952
    Added some pics to my OP.

    My final fans and K90 arrive tomorrow

  13. #5953
    Sorry Exera, I am shamelessly using your form to print my own info into it

    My gaming rig is as follows!

    Keyboard:
    Logitech G15, the old generation

    Mouse:
    Razer Naga

    Headphones:
    Denon AH-D1100

    Microphone:
    Stand alone Logitech Mic

    Monitor:
    Samsung Syncmaster XL2370

    Case:
    Casecom KM 200

    CPU Cooling:
    Noctua nh-d14

    CPU:
    AMD Phenom IIx6 1090T @ 3.7ghz (stock 3.2ghz)

    RAM:
    Some Cheapish Kingston RAM
    4*2gb 1333mHz

    GPU:
    Radeon 6870x2

    Mobo:
    Asus Sabertooth 990FX

    PSU:
    XFX 750W Pro edition

    HDD1:
    Samsung 1000GB, 7200rpm



    When I first bought this computer, I didn't knew anything about the stuff, and even though I had been guarenteed that the stock computer could run crossfire when I wanted to upgrade, it didn't so I had to replace Mobo and PSU, and just for the sake of it, I changed the cpu-cooler, which now is rather cold now (figures).

    Here's a picture of the rig itself:


    And a little info about idle temps (a million tabs and a few less powereating programs along with RAM heavy drawing program.)



    (Highest temp ever obtained have been 33deg celcius on the CPU and 67deg on the GPU, for some reason only one of the GPU's is shown in HWmonitor)

    I am thinking about I could overclock the cpu a little more, but I don't know if it is worth it.

  14. #5954
    24 to 26 degrees Celsius currently on my good ol' rig's CPU... And I removed a fan off the NH-D14 because it was too loud. And the rear fan of the case too for the same reason.

    Then again, it's idling. Has been for most of today. And temperatures today read -12c degrees outside, so I suspect the ambient temperature here isn't amazing either.
    Last edited by Drunkenvalley; 2012-02-06 at 12:30 AM. Reason: Brain derped and I wrote entirely wrong thing.

  15. #5955
    Grunt Grumpiea's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    Dwarven District
    Posts
    24
    My rig!

    Case: NZXT Phantom Special Edition(white and red)
    MoBo: Gigabyte GA-Z68X-UD5-B3
    CPU: Intel i5 2500K @4.3GHz
    CPU Cooler: CM Hyper 212+
    RAM: 8GB G.Skill Ripjaws X Performance 1600Mhz
    HDD: 1TB HDD 7200rpm
    GPU: Gainward GTX580 1.5GB
    PSU: OCZ 650W

    Pic: http://imageshack.us/f/204/img0023il.jpg/

    Will be added soon: an SSD and a modular PSU.

    http://eu.battle.net/wow/en/characte...rompi/advanced
    "It runs on the world’s most powerful graphics chip, imagination." - Sheldon Cooper

  16. #5956
    Quote Originally Posted by Drunkenvalley View Post
    24 to 26 degrees Celsius currently on my good ol' rig's graphics card... And I removed a fan off the NH-D14 because it was too loud. And the rear fan of the case too for the same reason.

    Then again, it's idling. Has been for most of today. And temperatures today read -12c degrees outside, so I suspect the ambient temperature here isn't amazing either.
    25 degrees on the gpu? How did you manage that?

  17. #5957
    Err... my brain derped when I was writing. o_O I meant CPU.

  18. #5958
    I am Murloc! Xuvial's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    5,027
    In winters I get 25-28c idles on my CPU, ~30-35c idles on GPU. And it doesn't get colder than 5c-10c here, so I imagine at -12c it's quite easily possible (if you keep your heater off and room chilly :P).

  19. #5959
    The Lightbringer CheezusCrust's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Nuuk, Greenland
    Posts
    3,283
    Quote Originally Posted by Drunkenvalley View Post
    24 to 26 degrees Celsius currently on my good ol' rig's CPU... And I removed a fan off the NH-D14 because it was too loud. And the rear fan of the case too for the same reason.

    Then again, it's idling. Has been for most of today. And temperatures today read -12c degrees outside, so I suspect the ambient temperature here isn't amazing either.
    I've done exactly the same thing on my 800D, my temps are at 34c though while idling on WoW character screen.

    Personally I haven't hit any temperature decrease, which is kind of nice.
    Quote Originally Posted by Caumen View Post
    25 degrees on the gpu? How did you manage that?
    Set fan to 85% XD

  20. #5960
    The Insane DeltrusDisc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Illinois, USA
    Posts
    15,028
    I'm in a poorly insulated large basement room, I'm freezing right now. Apparently it's 30 F outside right now, or -1.11 C. Pretty sure the ambient temperature here in this room though is in the mid 50s F, no doubt. Two fire escape windows within 15 feet of me in either direction that constantly let in the air from outside, do not help.

    My idle temps right now are....

    CPU is at a constant 4GHz (not sure why it isn't downclocking from no load) about 25-30 Celsius.
    GPU is ranging 22-24 Celsius. =S

    I should really get a room temperature thinger.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •