1. #7881
    Quote Originally Posted by Asera View Post
    Why would you have to drop a video card?
    I am guessing for money reasons.
    "Man is a slow, sloppy and brilliant thinker; the machine is fast, accurate and stupid." -William M. Kelly

  2. #7882
    Legendary! Evil Inside's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Down Under
    Posts
    6,864
    Quote Originally Posted by DeltrusDisc View Post
    850 watt PSU is where you went tremendously overkill, unless you plan to go dual or triSLI 680s in the near future. =S

    Also, your arrows at first made me think you were saying, Phenom II > i5-3570K, like it owns it. =X Should use "->" arrows. :P

    Otherwise, looks awesome! I seriously love ASRock's color scheme and all on their mobos... let's hope they start making GPUs soon, imagine a GPU with a heatsink like the ones on the chipsets and VRM chips on the Extreme 6/9.
    Well I had a 750w before, but when I dropped a second graphics card in there the thing wouldnt even budge so I had to up it.

  3. #7883
    The Insane DeltrusDisc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Illinois, USA
    Posts
    15,022
    Quote Originally Posted by b0sanac View Post
    Well I had a 750w before, but when I dropped a second graphics card in there the thing wouldnt even budge so I had to up it.
    Wow, you're kidding....

  4. #7884
    Legendary! Evil Inside's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Down Under
    Posts
    6,864
    Quote Originally Posted by Asera View Post
    Why would you have to drop a video card?

    3570K uses less power than a 1090T, Z77 uses less power than the 990FX...

    Unless you plan on overclocking past the point of reason, and even still an 850W ought to be enough.
    Because my psu doesnt have enough power cables for the second card unfortunately.

    ---------- Post added 2012-07-26 at 12:45 PM ----------

    Quote Originally Posted by DeltrusDisc View Post
    Wow, you're kidding....
    I wish lol, that thing cost me a pretty penny, but yeah I tested the old psu without the second card and it was fine, as soon as I dropped it in it stopped in its tracks.

    Edit: Yeah, I love the color scheme, and its pretty much the reason I picked that mobo and the ram, because I'm going for a red/black sorta theme.
    Last edited by Evil Inside; 2012-07-26 at 12:52 PM.

  5. #7885
    Quote Originally Posted by b0sanac View Post
    Because my psu doesnt have enough power cables for the second card unfortunately.

    ---------- Post added 2012-07-26 at 12:45 PM ----------



    I wish lol, that thing cost me a pretty penny, but yeah I tested the old psu without the second card and it was fine, as soon as I dropped it in it stopped in its tracks.

    Edit: Yeah, I love the color scheme, and its pretty much the reason I picked that mobo and the ram, because I'm going for a red/black sorta theme.
    Don't you have any molex to pci-e connectors?
    Intel i5 2500K (4.5 GHz) | Asus Z77 Sabertooth | 8GB Corsair Vengeance LP 1600MHz | Gigabyte Windforcex3 HD 7950 | Crucial M4 128GB | Asus Xonar DGX | Samson SR 850 | Zalman ZM-Mic1 | Western Digital Caviar Blue 500GB | Noctua NH-U12P SE2 | Fractal Design Arc Midi | Corsair HX650

    Tanking with the Blessing of Kings - The TankSpot Guide to the Protection Paladin - Updated for Patch 5.4!

  6. #7886
    The Lightbringer Asera's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Ceti Alpha V
    Posts
    3,662
    Because my psu doesnt have enough power cables for the second card unfortunately.
    Ah. That's silly considering it's an 850W. xD

    What about using a couple of those dual molex to 6 pin PCIe adapters? Or is the 6970 an 8/6pin setup? I don't remember.
    Statism: Total bliss is just one more regulation away.

  7. #7887
    I think it is an 8+6 now I think about it.
    Intel i5 2500K (4.5 GHz) | Asus Z77 Sabertooth | 8GB Corsair Vengeance LP 1600MHz | Gigabyte Windforcex3 HD 7950 | Crucial M4 128GB | Asus Xonar DGX | Samson SR 850 | Zalman ZM-Mic1 | Western Digital Caviar Blue 500GB | Noctua NH-U12P SE2 | Fractal Design Arc Midi | Corsair HX650

    Tanking with the Blessing of Kings - The TankSpot Guide to the Protection Paladin - Updated for Patch 5.4!

  8. #7888
    Legendary! Evil Inside's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Down Under
    Posts
    6,864
    Quote Originally Posted by Butler Log View Post
    Don't you have any molex to pci-e connectors?
    Not at the moment, which is why I had to drop it for the moment, the thing pissed me off to the point where I just wanted to throw it out the window lol.

    ---------- Post added 2012-07-26 at 12:56 PM ----------

    Quote Originally Posted by Asera View Post
    Ah. That's silly considering it's an 850W. xD

    What about using a couple of those dual molex to 6 pin PCIe adapters? Or is the 6970 an 8/6pin setup? I don't remember.
    Its 8/6 yeah, didnt have any on hand at the time.

  9. #7889
    The Lightbringer Asera's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Ceti Alpha V
    Posts
    3,662
    Wait, how did you have two cards before?
    Statism: Total bliss is just one more regulation away.

  10. #7890
    TOTALLY NOT
    Banned
    tetrisGOAT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    12,469
    I honestly find the "upgrade" from Phenom II x6 to Ivy Bridge silly. It's your money, but it's an upgrade for the sake of upgrading rather than performance needed.
    Quote Originally Posted by Asera View Post
    Or is the 6970 an 8/6pin setup?
    The HD6970 has an 8pin/6pin layout, yes. My HD6970 comes with 8/8.

    Quote Originally Posted by b0sanac View Post
    Not at the moment, which is why I had to drop it for the moment, the thing pissed me off to the point where I just wanted to throw it out the window lol.
    What. How the heck can you buy such an awful PSU then? How can it possibly be 850w with only one setup of cables? :|
    That's bad.
    I suggest you bridge the old PSUs 24pin and route two of its PCIe-cables in through the external water cooling holes that are on every case.
    Or remove a PCIe-bracket from the back of your case to route its cables in and run it off of the external PSU.
    Last edited by tetrisGOAT; 2012-07-26 at 01:01 PM.

  11. #7891
    Legendary! Evil Inside's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Down Under
    Posts
    6,864
    Quote Originally Posted by Asera View Post
    Wait, how did you have two cards before?
    Well, in my old setup I was able to use a 4pin cable for the 12v power, with this new mobo I've had to use 8, so I lost out on one 8pin connector. Complicated story lol.

    ---------- Post added 2012-07-26 at 01:04 PM ----------

    Quote Originally Posted by tetrisGOAT View Post
    I honestly find the "upgrade" from Phenom II x6 to Ivy Bridge silly. It's your money, but it's an upgrade for the sake of upgrading rather than performance needed.The HD6970 has an 8pin/6pin layout, yes. My HD6970 comes with 8/8.


    What. How the heck can you buy such an awful PSU then? How can it possibly be 850w with only one setup of cables? :|
    That's bad.
    I suggest you bridge the old PSUs 24pin and route two of its PCIe-cables in through the external water cooling holes that are on every case.
    Or remove a PCIe-bracket from the back of your case to route its cables in and run it off of the external PSU.
    Honestly I never would've thought of that lol. Also yeah its sort of a "pointless" upgrade but tbh I have noticed better fps and stuff while playing.

  12. #7892
    Can't live without Dual screen now.



    Cleaned it up, tried to keep wires out of the way on the back.


    ASUS P8P67
    i5-2500k @ 3.30GHz
    8GB RAM
    AMD HD6970
    Crucial M4 128GB

    Edit: Forgot the most important part, my PC is on the other side of the wall, so no noise at all, and I mean no noise! I just love it.
    Last edited by deef; 2012-07-26 at 02:03 PM.

  13. #7893
    Legendary! Evil Inside's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Down Under
    Posts
    6,864
    Yep I hear ya, I love my dual screens haha. Also nice setup.

  14. #7894
    Quote Originally Posted by b0sanac View Post
    Because my psu doesnt have enough power cables for the second card unfortunately.
    http://www.antec.com/pdf/press/10150...ews_TPQ850.pdf
    Cables:
    The PSU comes with the following
    cables:
    • 1 x 20/24 Pin ATX
    Connector. (Non-Modular)
    • 1x 12v 8 Pin Connector.
    (Non-Modular)
    • 1x 12v 4 Pin Connector
    (Non-Modular)
    • 2x PCI-E 8Pin with 2
    detachable pins. (Non-
    Modular)
    • 2x Molex & Floppy Cable-3
    molex, 1 floppy per cable. (Modular)
    • 1x Molex Cable – 3 Molex. (Modular)
    • 1x S-ATA Cable – 3 S-ATA. (Modular)
    • 2x S-ATA cable – 4 S-ATA. (Modular)
    • 2x PCI-E cable – 1pci-e per cable. (Modular)
    You should have enough cables.

  15. #7895
    The Insane DeltrusDisc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Illinois, USA
    Posts
    15,022
    Quote Originally Posted by deef View Post
    ASUS P8P67
    i5-2500k @ 3.30GHz
    8GB RAM
    AMD HD6970
    Crucial M4 128GB
    I have this Motherboard. I hate it, with a passion. How is it treating you?

  16. #7896
    Herald of the Titans Bigbazz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    Wales
    Posts
    2,926
    Quote Originally Posted by tetrisGOAT View Post
    All reference cards are loud, and they will continue to be.

    I have an HD6970, and I can easily say that it's the least noisy component of my build, wheras I cannot say the same about my Corsair PSU and Noctua NH-D14
    My HD6970 wasnt a reference model, it was a Powercolor, completely different cooler with a big ass copper pipes thing going on. Fans were still loud as hell though.

    - This thing - My old HD6970

    I think I also have a Noctua NH-D14 - Can't remember the exact model but it's a big ass heatsink with a big ass fan on both sides of it, and it's fairly silent. Infact my system since the new Windforce GTX670 upgrade is very quiet.
    Last edited by Bigbazz; 2012-07-26 at 01:33 PM.

  17. #7897
    Legendary! Evil Inside's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Down Under
    Posts
    6,864
    Quote Originally Posted by n0cturnal View Post
    Semi-modular, all the cables that are plugged in are in use at the moment, which is why im missing some. Damn people need to stop reminding me of my fails >.< lol

  18. #7898
    TOTALLY NOT
    Banned
    tetrisGOAT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    12,469
    Then the issue was the cooler, not the HD6970 in itself.

    Either way, the NH-D14 is still my loudest component.

    Quote Originally Posted by b0sanac View Post
    Semi-modular, all the cables that are plugged in are in use at the moment, which is why im missing some. Damn people need to stop reminding me of my fails >.< lol
    But it says there is a dedicated 8pin for the CPU, and there are two dedicated PCI-e cables whom both split into 8pins? What's the issue?

  19. #7899
    High Overlord animeguru08's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Alone.
    Posts
    189

  20. #7900
    Herald of the Titans Bigbazz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    Wales
    Posts
    2,926
    Quote Originally Posted by tetrisGOAT View Post
    Then the issue was the cooler, not the HD6970 in itself.

    Either way, the NH-D14 is still my loudest component.

    But it says there is a dedicated 8pin for the CPU, and there are two dedicated PCI-e cables whom both split into 8pins? What's the issue?
    Having a check I actually have the "Noctua NH-U12P SE2" slightly different, I would not say it is my loudest component, but It's not like i've gone around measuring my components with a db meter, but the heatsink/fan is very very quiet in my computer and the graphics card is probably still the loudest part though it is very quiet.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •