1. #8521
    I am Murloc! Xuvial's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    5,031
    In this day and age, requiring a CPU to flash the motherboard so you can use a newer CPU is just silly.

    They really, really need to find a way to make the motherboard flash-able with only the 24-pin power connector plugged in. E.g. you plug in a USB drive where the BIOS file has to be placed in the root directory - the motherboard finds it and loads it with the help of a single microchip (just to get the flashing process working), ta-da! Done. Put in new CPU, good to go.

  2. #8522
    They did that already, Xuvial, but only the generation after. Z77 motherboards can be flashed without a CPU, or at least Asus have this on most of their motherboards. Not sure if it's an actual Z77 feature.

  3. #8523
    Field Marshal Bigmits's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Suffolk,England
    Posts
    90
    Quote Originally Posted by n0cturnal View Post
    How come you got a $100+ mouse and keyboard, $200+ headset, $400 GPU and then a $120 CPU?
    so you grade your pc on how much components cost then?
    4.2ghz 4 core is more than enough for what i do,todays games dont even use more than 4 cores on a cpu so why have more?
    Quote Originally Posted by sdracklryeg View Post
    Wait... There are black people in China? You learn something new everyday.
    Quote Originally Posted by ctd123 View Post
    Kids are the worst STD you can catch.

  4. #8524
    I am Murloc! Cyanotical's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Aurora, Co
    Posts
    5,132
    Quote Originally Posted by Bigmits View Post
    so you grade your pc on how much components cost then?
    4.2ghz 4 core is more than enough for what i do,todays games dont even use more than 4 cores on a cpu so why have more?
    true, but the FX is actually a dual core in disguise

    i7-4790K | Z97 Class. | 8GB DDR3-2133 | GTX-690 Quad SLI | RAIDR | 512GB Samsung 830 | AX1200 | FT02
    Dell U2711 | Ducky Shine3 YoS | Steelseries Sensei Wireless | Xonar Essence One | KRK RP8G2s

  5. #8525
    Field Marshal Bigmits's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Suffolk,England
    Posts
    90
    Quote Originally Posted by Cyanotical View Post
    true, but the FX is actually a dual core in disguise
    please elaborate on this. im intrigued.
    Last edited by Bigmits; 2012-08-16 at 08:03 PM.
    Quote Originally Posted by sdracklryeg View Post
    Wait... There are black people in China? You learn something new everyday.
    Quote Originally Posted by ctd123 View Post
    Kids are the worst STD you can catch.

  6. #8526
    Quote Originally Posted by Bigmits View Post
    please elaborate on this. im intrigued.
    The FX architecture is kind of weird and what AMD likes to call a core isn't exactly true in the conventional meaning of the word, they are sharing parts with each other in the modules. http://www.tomshardware.com/reviews/...fx,3043-4.html http://www.hardwaresecrets.com/artic...hitecture/1078

    Also while I mentioned the price it was more about you picking a cheaper sub-par CPU while obviously spending so much on high quality parts everywhere else. I was just questioning why the CPU was the part you decided to cut your expenses on.
    Last edited by n0cturnal; 2012-08-16 at 08:18 PM.
    Intel i5-3570K @ 4.7GHz | MSI Z77 Mpower | Noctua NH-D14 | Corsair Vengeance LP White 1.35V 8GB 1600MHz
    Gigabyte GTX 670 OC Windforce 3X @ 1372/7604MHz | Corsair Force GT 120GB | Silverstone Fortress FT02 | Corsair VX450

  7. #8527
    Quote Originally Posted by Bigmits View Post
    please elaborate on this. im intrigued.
    Usually a core has one "node" (there's a better word, but it eludes me). AMD instead calls the node the core, and each actual core has two of these nodes.

  8. #8528
    Bloodsail Admiral Fierae's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Northampton, UK
    Posts
    1,237
    Had another one of these arrive:

    http://i826.photobucket.com/albums/z...816_183924.jpg

    Added it alongside the previous:

    http://i826.photobucket.com/albums/z...816_185931.jpg

    http://i826.photobucket.com/albums/z...816_185910.jpg

    Sorted! Palit Jetstream 4GB 680's running in SLI.

    http://www.3dmark.com/3dm11/4137775

    Slight overclock of +60 on each core.
    Last edited by Fierae; 2012-08-16 at 08:25 PM.
    Digital Rumination
    Plays: Azjol-Nerub EU - Fieran (Feral) | Smite | LoL | Skyrim | BF4
    Played: EVE - 37mil SP | Rift Mage | Guild Wars 2 - Mesmer | SW:TOR Sage
    i7 3930K - 16GB Corsair Vengeance - GTX Titan SLI - Samsung 750GB 840 EVO - Corsair 540 - Full WC

  9. #8529
    Quote Originally Posted by Fierae View Post
    Had another one of these arrive:

    http://i826.photobucket.com/albums/z...816_183924.jpg

    Added it alongside the previous:

    http://i826.photobucket.com/albums/z...816_185931.jpg

    http://i826.photobucket.com/albums/z...816_185910.jpg

    Sorted! Palit Jetstream 4GB 680's running in SLI.

    http://www.3dmark.com/3dm11/4137775

    Slight overclock of +60 on each core.
    That looks really nice, shame on the SLI bridge though. I wish all companies made them black like Asus ROG.
    Intel i5-3570K @ 4.7GHz | MSI Z77 Mpower | Noctua NH-D14 | Corsair Vengeance LP White 1.35V 8GB 1600MHz
    Gigabyte GTX 670 OC Windforce 3X @ 1372/7604MHz | Corsair Force GT 120GB | Silverstone Fortress FT02 | Corsair VX450

  10. #8530
    Quote Originally Posted by n0cturnal View Post
    That looks really nice, shame on the SLI bridge though. I wish all companies made them black like Asus ROG.
    I bought an ROG Bridge off ebay for that exact reason

    .........just had to RMA one of my own 680 Jetstreams (only 2GB) that i got back in April, coz the core's so unstable that even after underclocking it by 100mhz on both core and memory, it still cant avoid hanging every 5-15mins - still waiting to get it's replacement back
    Last edited by Dela2k10; 2012-08-16 at 08:42 PM.
    Quote Originally Posted by Jhazrun View Post
    You know how people talk about how you could just make a piece of rock with a billion health and damage and call it "hard"?

    Ra-den is what you get when a designer thinks that's actually a really good idea.
    i7-3930k @ 4.6 | Sabertooth X79 | 32GB DDR3-1600 | GTX-680 Jetstream SLI | TX950W

  11. #8531
    Bloodsail Admiral Fierae's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Northampton, UK
    Posts
    1,237
    Quote Originally Posted by n0cturnal View Post
    That looks really nice, shame on the SLI bridge though. I wish all companies made them black like Asus ROG.
    Yeah, I might change it at some point when I can be bothered!

    ---------- Post added 2012-08-16 at 09:54 PM ----------

    Quote Originally Posted by Dela2k10 View Post
    .........just had to RMA one of my own 680 Jetstreams (only 2GB) that i got back in April, coz the core's so unstable that even after underclocking it by 100mhz on both core and memory, it still cant avoid hanging every 5-15mins - still waiting to get it's replacement back
    My original 4GB one was RMA'd as it would crash on +20 core. Cap whine and fan ticking too. Was probably something to do with the power phases.
    Digital Rumination
    Plays: Azjol-Nerub EU - Fieran (Feral) | Smite | LoL | Skyrim | BF4
    Played: EVE - 37mil SP | Rift Mage | Guild Wars 2 - Mesmer | SW:TOR Sage
    i7 3930K - 16GB Corsair Vengeance - GTX Titan SLI - Samsung 750GB 840 EVO - Corsair 540 - Full WC

  12. #8532
    Fluffy Kitten Marest's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    4,228
    Last edited by Marest; 2012-08-16 at 10:00 PM.

  13. #8533
    I am Murloc! Cyanotical's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Aurora, Co
    Posts
    5,132
    I do have to say, even though the cable management is crap, and the potential work-ability is limited, the FT02 is still one of the best and highest quality cases i have ever worked with
    Last edited by Cyanotical; 2012-08-16 at 09:52 PM.

    i7-4790K | Z97 Class. | 8GB DDR3-2133 | GTX-690 Quad SLI | RAIDR | 512GB Samsung 830 | AX1200 | FT02
    Dell U2711 | Ducky Shine3 YoS | Steelseries Sensei Wireless | Xonar Essence One | KRK RP8G2s

  14. #8534
    Quote Originally Posted by Marest View Post
    Many pictures, handle it!
    That looks great, wish I had a fortress and color matched parts.
    Intel i5-3570K @ 4.7GHz | MSI Z77 Mpower | Noctua NH-D14 | Corsair Vengeance LP White 1.35V 8GB 1600MHz
    Gigabyte GTX 670 OC Windforce 3X @ 1372/7604MHz | Corsair Force GT 120GB | Silverstone Fortress FT02 | Corsair VX450

  15. #8535
    Epic! Skelly's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Haligonia, NS, Canada
    Posts
    1,676
    Quote Originally Posted by Marest View Post
    Marest, you tease.
    i7 930 @ 4.0Ghz | Sapphire HD5970 w/ Accelero Xtreme | ASUS P6X58D Premium | 32GB Kingston DDR3-1600
    Xonar Essence STX | 128GB Vertex 4 | AX750 | Xigmatek Elysium
    Laing D5 | XSPC RX 360mm | Koolance RP-452X2 | EK-Supreme HF
    Dell 3007WFP-HC | Samsung BX2350 | Das Keyboard Model S Ultimate | Razer Naga Molten | Sennheiser HD650

  16. #8536
    The Insane DeltrusDisc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Illinois, USA
    Posts
    15,099
    Marest, what sound card is that in your case? (Assuming it's a sound card.) O.o

  17. #8537
    TOTALLY NOT
    Banned
    tetrisGOAT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    12,620
    Looks like an ASUS Xonar DX to me.

  18. #8538
    Bloodsail Admiral FearXI's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Pennsylvania
    Posts
    1,037
    Quote Originally Posted by noteworthynerd View Post
    Rear fan should be turned to intake, feeds the reservoir fans (that's how I've got mine setup, anyway).
    I was thinking of leaving it in, I actually replaced the stock fan.
    But I may remove it completely.

    I just have to be careful of negative pressure. Don't want it to be sucking dust in every little gap.
    CPU: Intel Core i7-3930K Sandy Bridge-E RAM: Mushkin Enhanced Redline 32GB 2133 MOBO: ASUS Rampage IV Extreme
    SSD: Crucial M4 256GB GPU: EVGA GTX 680 SLI CASE: NZXT SWITCH 810
    PSU: SeaSonic Platinum-1000 COOLING: Water Cooling
    Firearms: Glock 19 Generation 4

  19. #8539
    The Insane DeltrusDisc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Illinois, USA
    Posts
    15,099
    Quote Originally Posted by Fierae View Post
    Had another one of these arrive:

    http://i826.photobucket.com/albums/z...816_183924.jpg

    Added it alongside the previous:

    http://i826.photobucket.com/albums/z...816_185931.jpg

    http://i826.photobucket.com/albums/z...816_185910.jpg

    Sorted! Palit Jetstream 4GB 680's running in SLI.

    http://www.3dmark.com/3dm11/4137775

    Slight overclock of +60 on each core.
    ..... I am jelly. x_x

    Post in the GPU OC leaderboard thread!

  20. #8540
    Quote Originally Posted by FearXI View Post
    I was thinking of leaving it in, I actually replaced the stock fan.
    But I may remove it completely.

    I just have to be careful of negative pressure. Don't want it to be sucking dust in every little gap.
    Don't you already have huge amounts of negative pressure? You have 2 fans pushing in air and 5 out?
    Last edited by n0cturnal; 2012-08-17 at 04:02 AM.
    Intel i5-3570K @ 4.7GHz | MSI Z77 Mpower | Noctua NH-D14 | Corsair Vengeance LP White 1.35V 8GB 1600MHz
    Gigabyte GTX 670 OC Windforce 3X @ 1372/7604MHz | Corsair Force GT 120GB | Silverstone Fortress FT02 | Corsair VX450

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •