1. #10941
    Epic! Idrinkwhiterussians's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    In a bar. Somewhere that carries Khalua, cream and Vodka
    Posts
    1,680
    Quote Originally Posted by JosephStylin View Post
    Did I use compressed air and a vacuum? Yes. Did I bother to get into every nook and cranny with some baby wipes to get the stubborn dust... No. I'm happy with it until its next regularly scheduled maintenance which is never more than 2-4 weeks away. Compressed air in a can just doesn't seem to get it all though... Need to seek out an air compressor and let it rip.
    I might suggest some filters for the case if you are getting that much dust.
    Quote Originally Posted by Cyanotical View Post
    anyone want doughnuts? i hear there is a great shop in Vancouver

  2. #10942
    High Overlord JosephStylin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Gori, Georgia
    Posts
    165
    Quote Originally Posted by Idrinkwhiterussians View Post
    I might suggest some filters for the case if you are getting that much dust.
    Yeah I have some, unfortunately one of my pets bathes in a fine fine dust (volcanic sand ) and it gets through the filters I do have. However the side fan does not have one and is probably where most gets in. Any recommendations on a specific type of material to make my own?

    Intel i7 4770k @ 4.79Ghz | Corsair H110 | Gigabyte Z87X-OC | Corsair HX1050 | 16GB Corsair Vengeance | Gigabyte Windforce GTX 780 OC | 4 x 2TB WD Green HDD | 512GB Crucial MX100 SSD | Corsair Carbide 500R Black/Orange | Corsair Scimitar Mouse | Logitech G710+ Keyboard

  3. #10943
    Quote Originally Posted by JosephStylin View Post
    Yeah I have some, unfortunately one of my pets bathes in a fine fine dust (volcanic sand ) and it gets through the filters I do have. However the side fan does not have one and is probably where most gets in. Any recommendations on a specific type of material to make my own?
    Microfibre cloths?
    Intel i7 5820K (4.5 GHz) | MSI X99A MPower | 32GB Kingston HyperX Fury 2666MHz | Gigabyte Windforcex3 HD 7950 | Samsung 951PRO nVME 512GB | Crucial M550 256GB | Crucial MX200 1TB | Western Digital Caviar Black 2000GB | Samson SR 850 | Zalman ZM-Mic1 | Noctua NH-D15 | Fractal Define R5 | Seasonic X850

    Former author of the TankSpot.com Protection Paladin guide

  4. #10944
    I am Murloc! Cyanotical's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Colorado
    Posts
    5,517
    Quote Originally Posted by JosephStylin View Post
    Any recommendations on a specific type of material to make my own?
    pantyhose


    /10char

    i7-6700K | Z170 Class. K | 16GB DDR4-3200 | GTX-980ti | Samsung 950 Pro RAID0 | SuperNOVA 1Kw P2 | Lian Li PC-07S
    Dell U3415w | Ducky DSX | Zowie ZA11 | Xonar Essence One | Tannoy Reveal 402

  5. #10945
    Epic! Idrinkwhiterussians's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    In a bar. Somewhere that carries Khalua, cream and Vodka
    Posts
    1,680
    Yeah, I would say pantyhose as well. Sorry I did not get back to you before now.

    Cyanotical holding down the fort though
    Quote Originally Posted by Cyanotical View Post
    anyone want doughnuts? i hear there is a great shop in Vancouver

  6. #10946
    High Overlord JosephStylin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Gori, Georgia
    Posts
    165
    Solid ideas, thanks folks!

    Intel i7 4770k @ 4.79Ghz | Corsair H110 | Gigabyte Z87X-OC | Corsair HX1050 | 16GB Corsair Vengeance | Gigabyte Windforce GTX 780 OC | 4 x 2TB WD Green HDD | 512GB Crucial MX100 SSD | Corsair Carbide 500R Black/Orange | Corsair Scimitar Mouse | Logitech G710+ Keyboard

  7. #10947
    The Insane DeltrusDisc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Illinois, USA
    Posts
    16,618
    Quote Originally Posted by Hemoglobin View Post
    My humble battle station known as the lazy station lol.

    i7 2630QM 2.00 GHz
    GTX 560M
    12 Gb ram
    2x 500gb 7200 rpm drives

    The externals are

    3tb wd
    1 tb wd
    500 gb seagate
    128 gb crucial m4 ssd

    I don't game anymore aside from the odd LoL match, so it's pretty much solely used for media and browsing.

    http://i.imgur.com/TBQc4a7.jpg
    http://i.imgur.com/UDQRzxs.jpg
    http://i.imgur.com/XQ8EMUZ.jpg
    http://i.imgur.com/bBaZwNr.jpg
    ... You put a Crucial m4 128GB AS AN EXTERNAL?!

    You take out that internal 7200RPM drive and stick the SSD there and reinstall Windows, or clone the 7200RPM to the Crucial and then stick it in!
    Quote Originally Posted by Belize View Post
    Online dating turned into circumcision discussion. Good job MMO-C, it only took 25 pages.
    My Ridiculous Computer Setup

    MY YOUTUBE CHANNEL: Beer, Games, Opinions
    | CPU Overclocking Thread | GPU Overclocking Thread

  8. #10948
    I am Murloc! Xuvial's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    5,102
    Unless they released eSata 3.0, which I don't think they have.

    Hmm...external SSD's....got me thinking....

  9. #10949
    Quote Originally Posted by Xuvial View Post
    Unless they released eSata 3.0, which I don't think they have.

    Hmm...external SSD's....got me thinking....
    Beats lugging around a mechanical that can die, though for what you are going to pay for an SSD and a casing, you might as well buy a large flash drive with USB 3.0

    i5 [email protected], R9 290 Windforce, 16GB DDR3 1600, HAF XB Evo, Dark Rock Pro 3 Cooler

  10. #10950
    Quote Originally Posted by DeltrusDisc View Post
    ... You put a Crucial m4 128GB AS AN EXTERNAL?!

    You take out that internal 7200RPM drive and stick the SSD there and reinstall Windows, or clone the 7200RPM to the Crucial and then stick it in!
    Lol, yeah. I originally bought the ssd for my laptop, but it ended up not being enough space and installing it would of voided my laptops warranty. I no longer game and have all my externals now, so the space isn't an issue (plus my warranty period is over), but now it's too much of a hassle for me to bother installing it so I just bought a a casing for it and use it as an external.

  11. #10951
    http://imgur.com/L8URaiv
    http://imgur.com/vgnhXax
    http://imgur.com/2f3t4K9

    That's my set up, it's cozy I like it, not the neatest but oh well.

  12. #10952
    Immortal Evolixe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    In the Shadows
    Posts
    7,039
    Quote Originally Posted by Dirty Wounds View Post
    http://imgur.com/L8URaiv
    http://imgur.com/vgnhXax
    http://imgur.com/2f3t4K9

    That's my set up, it's cozy I like it, not the neatest but oh well.
    Oh my god, square monitors! :<
    i7-5820k @ 4.4GHz|16GB DDR4 2400MHz|EVGA GTX 670 FTW x2 SLI|Samsung 830 128GB SSD

  13. #10953
    Quote Originally Posted by Holo View Post
    Oh my god, square monitors! :<
    1280x1024, it actually looks pretty decent even though it's 5:4 Aspect Ratio, really wanting a 16:10

  14. #10954
    Got bored with my old setup. New Motherboard/RAM/Video Cards





    Link to previous build.

    http://www.mmo-champion.com/threads/...6#post19819566
    i7 3930k @ 4.6GHz | 2xEVGA ACX SC+ 980ti | ASUS Rampage IV Formula | 16GB G.Skill TridentX 2400MHz | Crucial MX100 512GB(OS) Samsung 840 500GB(Games) | Seasonic 1250W Gold | Corsair 750D |

  15. #10955
    Stood in the Fire Starbrand's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Location
    Illinois
    Posts
    399
    looks amazing. even your old build still looks amazing..

    Sabertooth x79 ---> Rampage IV Formula
    WC 7970 ---> GTX 680 SLI
    and possibly more memory than 16GB

    a 4 month upgrade i assume since your last post. /jealous
    My 2010-2014 Build *updated as of 4/4/14*
    Instagram follow @TheDrawingMil

  16. #10956
    Quote Originally Posted by Maemae View Post
    looks amazing. even your old build still looks amazing..

    Sabertooth x79 ---> Rampage IV Formula
    WC 7970 ---> GTX 680 SLI
    and possibly more memory than 16GB

    a 4 month upgrade i assume since your last post. /jealous
    Ooh haha, that was just the last time I rebuild the computer when I moved. I've had the Sabertooth and the 7970 for over a year
    i7 3930k @ 4.6GHz | 2xEVGA ACX SC+ 980ti | ASUS Rampage IV Formula | 16GB G.Skill TridentX 2400MHz | Crucial MX100 512GB(OS) Samsung 840 500GB(Games) | Seasonic 1250W Gold | Corsair 750D |

  17. #10957
    The Lightbringer Toffie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Denmark
    Posts
    3,770
    Those cables don't do such a machine justice. Fully modular AX-series would look amazing on that beast. :P
    Skylake & Pascal gaming build 2016
    6700K | Noctua NH-D15 | Asus Z170 Pro Gaming | Corsair 400c | Corsair LPX 16GB | Inc GTX 1070 |
    S850 EVO 500GB | Corsair RM750x | Razer BW Chroma - Razer Deathadder Chroma | AOC 24 G-Sync 144Hz |

  18. #10958
    TOTALLY NOT
    Banned
    tetrisGOAT's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    13,605
    Quote Originally Posted by Sweetleader View Post
    Got bored with my old setup. New Motherboard/RAM/Video Cards
    Link to previous build.

    http://www.mmo-champion.com/threads/...6#post19819566
    Probably performs quite good, but.. Looks quite bad, tbqh.
    Watercooling CPU only with that amount of radiator-space, bent tubing, non-effort in cable management, PSU upside down, HDD loose in a HDD slot, a random fan in the middle of it all.
    You've got some work to do, but it can turn out really nicely!

  19. #10959
    High Overlord lolcats121's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    The Void Between Universes
    Posts
    192
    just looking at this thread I realize how poor I am, also I cant post my setup because it wont let me for some reason >_<

  20. #10960
    Quote Originally Posted by tetrisGOAT View Post
    Probably performs quite good, but.. Looks quite bad, tbqh.
    Watercooling CPU only with that amount of radiator-space, bent tubing, non-effort in cable management, PSU upside down, HDD loose in a HDD slot, a random fan in the middle of it all.
    You've got some work to do, but it can turn out really nicely!
    I was watercooling a GPU but I took the GPU out and I don't want to spend $250 on blocks for the lightnings. Nothing wrong with overkill, especially for a SBe running at 1.48v.
    Tubing is partially the result of bay res (which I won't do next time). You need extra tubing to take it in and out for refills. I could probably cut it down an inch or so but not a big deal to me.
    Cables are fine. Only ones really sticking out are the GPU ones and I don't have much more room in the back panel for 4 8pin cables.
    PSU... well that's all preference. Not like the PSU is going to over heat from the air coming off the GPU >.<
    Why do I need a full 3 slot HDD bay for one hard drive. Looked worse that way imo.
    Random fan was because I was stress testing the CPU. The MOFSETs on X79 boards run notoriously hot and mine sits in an awkward place behind the radiator, so the fan was to keep it cool. I could take it out just haven't gotten around to it. Not entirely sure I'm happy with 4.8GHz.

    Although I do appreciate feedback. There is a method behind the madness for everything you mentioned. If I was to do anything it would be custom sleeve the cables but I feel like sleeved cables are a waste of time/money for anything but a show rig.
    i7 3930k @ 4.6GHz | 2xEVGA ACX SC+ 980ti | ASUS Rampage IV Formula | 16GB G.Skill TridentX 2400MHz | Crucial MX100 512GB(OS) Samsung 840 500GB(Games) | Seasonic 1250W Gold | Corsair 750D |


Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •