10+ Year Old Account

Multi or Turbo OC

Hey guys, been doing a lot of reading lately as I am about to do some overclocking on my system. I have read some on the turbo overclock instead of the normal multiplier overclock. It makes sense to me as a beginner as far as what it brings in ease of the overclock, for example jumping to 4.7 only when needed and still having everything on auto with the only changes being the wattage for the turbo and the turbo multiplier itself. I could only find a few articles that provided any relevant information on the turbo overclock vs the standard, so I am trying to find out "the good the bad the ugly". Could anyone please give me a little more input on the subject. For example I am new to overclocking, so would this be a easier way to get the performance bumps I would like on a much more simple process. What are the ups and downs that you guys know about when it comes to turbo overclocking vs the standard way. Now I know in some cases for smaller overclocks you can some times even get away with just changing the multiplier / voltage etc. or in some cases people have gone up to 4.7 stable with just changing the multiplier alone. I know changing the multiplier etc. can be just as easy in some cases as the turbo method. What I really want to know is what major differences / benefits / downsides is there between the two types of overclocking. Of course this is in reference to my current components if that info is needed. Let me know what you guys think and thank you in advance for your help!!!!
    CM 690II Advanced / Lamptron FC-6 / Gigabyte GA-Z68X-UD3P-B3 / G Skill Sniper Series (2x4)8GB 1.25V DDR3 1600 / CM Hyper 212+ / I5 2500k stock / 2x MSI HD 6950 2GB ( Reference / Stock ) Crossfire / Corsair TX850 V2 ES / Samsung Spinpoint F3 1TB 7200RPM / Sony CD/DVD / Windows 7
    Overclocking almost done! 4.4 GHZ still working on it!! Wait.......where is all that smoke coming from?

The Unstoppable Force DeltrusDisc's Avatar