Page 1 of 2
LastLast
    Field Marshal
    10+ Year Old Account

i5 vs i7 - Why is i5 better? + Water Cooling.

Hey, im looking over some parts for my computer and i was doing a bit of research on the CPU.
    Now people are saying the intel core i5 is better then the i7 for gaming. Why is this?

Also; i will be looking to overclock my system, would water cooling be better advised?

PS: this is my first time building a PC and im not overly smart in this area, but do have some knowledge, so please dont use to many high tech terms
    Quote Originally Posted by Blurredd View Post
    I do them naked

and I'm not talking about my character

Deleted
    Wow dosn't support hyperthreading, which the i7 use.

Deleted
    i5 and i7 are merely the names on the CPUs. It's not so black and white as i7 is always > to i5, as there are plenty of i5 CPUs out there that outperform i7s.

In terms on i7 2600k vs i5 2500k, you will not see a noticeable difference in current generation of games, because very few of these support the i7s hyper-threading technique (which basically, at least to my understanding, means that there are two lines in/out to each core resulting in 4 additional, virtual cores).

Deleted
    -The difference between i5 2500k and i7 2600k in applications that do not support HT is close to non-existent. If you plan on video rendering and similar, then you'll notice a difference.
    -as for overclocking, you are totally fine with a high-end air cooling solution (Noctua NH-D14 or similar). That one cools better than a corsair h70 (closed loop water cooling system).

Deleted
    Quote Originally Posted by TheDiscPriest View Post
    Also; i will be looking to overclock my system, would water cooling be better advised?