Page 1 of 2
LastLast
    15+ Year Old Account

Looking for a new type of magic.

This post might meander a bit. Apologies in advance.

I have been thinking about 2 things side by side recently, though they haven't really crossed in my mind until today. First is the last profession. Everyone assumes it will be a Mesmer, but will it be a Mesmer we recognize? I say we, but really mean "you" as in GW1 players since I have no first hand knowledge of them. I have heard though their playstyle is more about CC and draining or denying resources, such as mana. I am wondering, how could this work at all in GW2? There is no mana. Sure you can still CC, but they need more than that. What would be their flavor? Guardians have the fire of justice and virtues, Elementalists have their attunements, Necromancers build up the meter for their death shroud and so on. I am having a real hard time figuring out what a Mesmer's schtick would be.

The second thing on my mind is how boring most magic in games has become to me. It's getting sort of tired and cliche to the point I gravitate to magic that is somewhat out of the norm. Take Dragon Nest for a moment. The Mystic advanced class to be precise. And also more the Chaos Wizard side. It focuses on using gravity. How rare is that? In the game not only does it work, but it is visually delicious and it works very well. I have problems with some core pieces of Dragon Nest so it isn't the game for me, but I did love my Mystic.

This got me thinking and hoping that the final class, whatever it may be, has some sort of magic that sets it apart. I don't mean to knock em, but the elementalist and the necromancer are so tired and played out to me personally I don't think I could get into them. When I actually stumbled onto some info from the cancelled project "Guild Wars: Utopia" and saw a Chronomancer I was ecstatic! Until I learned that ANet said specifically that the last profession wouldn't be one. That would have been my class for certain!