Page 1 of 6
... LastLast

what is "immersion"?

Id like some kind of clarification on this term and how it applies to wow. The term seems to get thrown around a bunch and it seems like there is varying opinions. My self I started playing back in BC pretty much been a end game raider through out every tier. Ive seen features come and go but when something comes along people throw the work "immersion" and lack of it or abundance of it. Ive never honestly felt immersed the game, dosent mean i didnt enjoy the game, I enjoy the game very much. I just dont understand this immersion deal with wow. Can I get a few thoughts on it?

10+ Year Old Account
    Immersion is feeling as if you're part of the world/story of a game, which is what some people have had and might want back again. But primarily it's used in story intensive games.

10+ Year Old Account
    Immersion is the feeling that you're actually in the game world. Games like Skyrim, for instance, are heavy on immersion, and indeed, have things like Frostfall: http://www.nexusmods.com/skyrim/mods/11163/, which simulates the effects of hypothermia on your character. People who like immersion want to feel as if they're really in the game and not someone behind the screen.

It's a valid criticism in WoW. Night time is as bright as day time. Weather effects barely exist in-game. Flying mounts have perpetuated a generation of players who zip from objective to objective without having to muscle through the terrain.

see i under stand part of it with classes, having to get ammo, feeding your pet, buff food. That I get but when it starts to feel like work like "urgh its raid time and i have to re stock up......again......*sigh*" is it really immersion? Is there any correlation between immersion and tediousness?

or maybe my inner child is murdered and I dont have that kind of imagination. wow i made myself sad.....
    Last edited by idunnowatdo; 2014-07-17 at 05:27 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by idunnowatdo View Post