Page 1 of 3
LastLast
    Deleted

vent / TS / mumble?

Hi,

Was curious to hear your thoughts around voice-communication technology as our vent subscription has just expired and we'll be setting something new up.

I'm not a techie, so you'll have to excuse my ignorance, but here is how I see things - would be very interested in hearing any opinions based on lag / pings / service providers, etc.

Ventrilo - probably most widely used (i.e. pugging too). Our past server did us very well and lag was next to zero.
    Mumble - is this better technology? We tried it but found it took up a huge amount of memory vs. ventrilo (like 5-6x more)
    Teamspeak - it keeps crashing my computer so I have shyed away from it - so any first hand experience would be great.

I would be looking for a solution that allows first for good communication (low lag, maybe a great auto voice-activation setting rather than push-to-talk) and second for common platform so that pug raids can join it when we do alt runs.

Also, any service providers that people could recommend would be great. We have raiders in the UK, Norway, Sweden, Finland, Holland and Portugal so likely a UK server.

If there is a thread up on this already, a link would be helpful.

Thank you

Mumble is top of the line. I'm not so sure about it taking up that much memory, but the lag is significantly less when compared to vent. Its not really noticeable, until you get used to Mumble, go back to vent, and hear everyone talk over each other. It does require a bit of set-up and tweaking in some cases, be warned. Also, the voice detection is of decent quality, you just have to adjust it in the settings to not pick up as much. There is also a built in volume attenuation, compared to vent where to have this you have to set it up manually.

The only downfall is its not as well known as vent, and many are not willing to download it for pugs.

The Unstoppable Force Elim Garak's Avatar
    10+ Year Old Account